About Telkom Knockout

This tournament features all 16 premier league clubs and is played in the first half of the season. In recent times, the Telkom Knockout has proven to be a lucrative tournament with many exciting incentives for players.

It was started in 1992, called the Coca-Cola Cup and was played until 1996, when it was replaced by the Rothmans Cup which was changed back to the Coca-Cola Cup in 2001 due to the new rules regarding tobacco sponsorship in sport. Telkom became the new sponsors in 2006.

In all matches there has to be a winner on the day, this will be decided if there is a winner after full time (90 minutes). If teams are tied at full time then extra time will be played, penalties will decide the winner if the scores are still even (there is no golden goal rule). The winner receives R4.25 million making it one of the most highly paid cup competition in Africa.

2016-17: Cape Town City
2015-16: Mamelodi Sundowns
2014-15: SuperSport United
2013-14: Platinum Stars
2012-13: Bloemfontein Celtic
2011-12: Orlando Pirates
2010-11: Kaizer Chiefs
2009-10: Kaizer Chiefs
2008: Ajax Cape Town
2007: Kaizer Chiefs
2006: Silver Stars
2005: Jomo Cosmos
2004: Kaizer Chiefs
2003: Kaizer Chiefs
2002: Jomo Cosmos
2001: Kaizer Chiefs
2000: Ajax Cape Town
1999: Sundowns
1998: Kaizer Chiefs
1997: Kaizer Chiefs
1996: Bush Bucks
1995: Wits University
1994: Qwa Qwa Stars
1993: Bush Bucks
1992: AmaZulu

Telkom Knockout Rules