City hold Chiefs to draw

Mitchell Katsvairo's early goal was not enough to ensure Kaizer Chiefs returned to winning ways when they drew 1-1 against Cape Town City in their Absa Premiership contest at the FNB Stadium on Tuesday night.

The stalemate means Amakhosi sit at fourth spot on the table with 17 points behind the third-placed Bidvest Wits.

For the Capetonians, substitute Matthew Sim netted a fine equaliser to ensure they top the log table.

Chiefs scored in the fourth minute when City failed to clear Simphiwe Tshabalala's free kick, the ball landing on George Maluleka who took a shot which deflected off Katsvairo to beat goalkeeper Shu-Aib Walters, 1-0.

In the seventh minute, Thato Mokeke showed his skill as he moved forward and took a shot which Itumeleng Khune saved well.

However, just before the 30th minute-mark, defender Sibusiso Khumalo was shown a straight red card after a dangerous tackle on Thamsanqa Mkhize.

Despite having a one man advantage, Eric Tinkler's men failed to penetrate Amakhosi and allowed their hosts to dominate the proceedings in the middle of the park.

Right on the stroke of halftime, City nearly equalised in what looked to be a goal as Sibusiso Masina headed goalwards from a corner kick - it bounced off the woodwork and appeared to cross the line but the referee did not give the goal.

Television replays showed it crossed the line, but it was not allowed to stand.

It was 1-0 to Steve Komphela's men at halftime.

In the 53rd minute, Sim grabbed an equaliser for the visitors as he unleashed a wonderful long range shot, the ball deflecting off Lorenzo Gordinho and sailing past Khune.

City continued to control the game thereafter as they spent more time in Chiefs half, but City failed to make their advantage count.

The draw now elevates Tinkler's men to the top spot on the log with 21 points from 11 league matches so far.

Kaizer Chiefs: (1) 1 (Katsvairo 4')

Cape Town City: (0) 1 (Sim 53')


Kaizer Chiefs: Khune (Khuzwayo 67'), Mphahlele, Cardoso, Gordinho, Khumalo, Katsande, Maluleka (Buchanan 88'), Tshabalala, Chirambadare, Lebese, Katsvairo (Parker 72')

Cape Town City: Walters, Matsi, Mkhize, Gumede, Mokeke, Putsche (Simm 40'), Adjei, Masina (Jayiya 50'), Ngoma, Manyama, Majoro (Moseamedi 66')