KwaZulu-Natal Derby ends in a draw

AmaZulu held Maritzburg United to a 1-1 draw in an Absa Premiership match at the King Zwelithini Stadium in Umlazi, Durban, on Tuesday.

As a result, Usuthu slip down to position nine on the league standings, while the Team of Choice remain at the top of the log.

The Team of Choice threatened first through Mohau Mokate, whose effort narrowly missed the target a few minutes into the match.

Boalefa Pule, the AmaZulu goalkeeper, was then called into action in the 12th minute as Maritzburg pushed for the opening goal.

However, Pule pulled off a great save to deny Maritzburg defender Pogiso Sanoka following a corner-kick from Deolin Mekoa.

Usuthu had a rare chance in the 16th minute following a good move, but Sammy Darpoh placed his effort wide of the target.

Mokate, who represented South Africa at the 2017 Cosafa Cup in North West, kept the AmaZulu defence very busy.

However, AmaZulu stood firm at back in the closing stages of the first half and the score was 0-0 at the interval.

Maritzburg coach Fadlu Davids made a double substitution just before the second half as the visitors looked to break the deadlock.

Attack-minded duo Bandile Shandu and Mxolisi Kunene replaced Fortune Makaringe and Siphelele Ndlovu respectively.

The match opened up towards the hour-mark, but the two sides were struggling to create good scoring opportunities.

But the Team of Choice gained fulll control of the match in the late stages of the match with Usuthu struggling to contain the visitors.

The deadlock was finally broken in the 79th minute when Mokate finished off Sheldon Van Wyk's cross to make it 1-0 to Maritzburg.

The Team of Choice thought they had grabbed the winning goal, but Mhlengi Cele had other ideas as he scored with a header in the 88th minute.

The former Thanda Royal Zulu marksman's late goal ensured that the KwaZulu-Natal Derby ended in a 1-1 draw.

AmaZulu 1
Cele 88'
Maritzburg 1
Mokate 79'

AmaZulu: Pule, Mtshweni, Sikhakhane, Nyongo, Morton, Darpoh, Mbatha (L.Dlamini 85'), Karuru (Karuru 72'), Nomvethe, Manzini, Khenyeza (Cele 66').
Marizburg: Ofori, Fransman (Van Wyk 70'), Sanoka, Xulu, Weidlich, Makaringe (Shandu 46'), Rusike, Maboe, Mekoa, Mokate, Ndlovu (Kunene 46').