Arrows claim a point at Orlando Stadium

Golden Arrows picked up a point as they drew 0-0 against Orlando Pirates in their Absa Premiership encounter at Orlando Stadium in Soweto on Tuesday night.

The draw for Arrows leaves them sitting at No 2 on the log table with 16 points after 11 games in the league.

Despite good touches from the hosts in the early stages of the contest, they could not test Arrows goalkeeper Nkosingiphile Gumede in the first 10 minutes.

However, three minutes later Thabo Matlaba had his powerful left-footed effort saved by Gumede.

In the 27th minute Thabo Qalinge dribbled past four Arrows defenders into the box, but was let down by his final shot at goal which went straight at Gumede who cleared the danger.

Just after the half-hour mark Pirates lost the ball in the midfield and allowed Kudakwashe Mahachi to make a dangerous run into the box, only to see his final touch swallowed by keeper Jackson Mabokgwane.

Arrows resorted to long range efforts and Mabokgwane was called to produce a fine save to deny Zolani Nkombelo in the 41st minute.

It was 0-0 at halftime.

With both sides coming from the tunnel energised, it was Clinton Larsen's men who wasted a glorious chance to score when Mutizwa's shot was saved by Mabokgwane after beating his marker in the box.

In the 62nd minute, Pirates intensified their probe for a goal and saw a Musa Nyatama effort saved by Gumede - the rebound fell for an unmarked Justice Chabalala whose effort sailed over the crossbar from close range.

The Soweto giants tried to pull out all their tricks in search of a winner, but were unable to break the deadlock.

In the wake of the stalemate, Milutin Sredojevic's men now occupy the sixth spot on the table with 15 points from 11 matches in their campaign.

Orlando Pirates: 0

Golden Arrows: 0

Orlando Pirates: Mabokgwane, Chabalala, Shitolo, Van Heerden (Memela 69'), Nyauza, Matlaba, Nyatama, Qalinge (Morrison 79'), Lorch, Makola, Gabuza (Kutumela 54')

Golden Arrows: Gumede, Mngwengwe, Mzava, S. Dube, Nkombelo, Cele, Shongwe (Bilankulu 58'), Sibiya (Fikizolo 46'), Mahachi (Lamola 71'), Magubane, Mutizwa