Chippa United move into last 16

Chippa United have moved into the last 16 of the Nedbank Cup after easing to a 2-0 win over third-tier Phiva Young Stars at Kabokweni Stadium in Mpumalanga on Saturday afternoon.

The top-flight side fielded a much-changed line-up but still had enough quality to defeat their hosts, with first-half goals from Ayabulela Konqobe and Linda Mntambo taking them to victory.

After a sluggish start, Chippa found their rhythm and claimed the lead in the 14th minute. A free kick to the left of centre was chipped toward the far post and defender Ayabulela Konqobe forced the ball home to make it 1-0 to the visitors.

On the half hour mark the Chilli Boys doubled their advantage: Thabo Rakhale did fine work down the right flank, Mxolisi Machupu played a clever dummy and Linda Mntambo ran onto the ball, held off a defender and beat goalkeeper Motsoshi Baloyi with a right-footed shot.

Young Stars had shown little in attack through the first half, but just before the interval they nearly pulled a goal back, with the lively Gugu Mathebula ghosting past a couple of challenges in the penalty area before firing a shot on target which required a sharp save from Brighton Mhlongo.

The hosts continued to improve in the second half, with Elliot Msibi seeing a shot deflect off a Chippa defender and flash just wide of the target in the 73rd minute, while the subsequent corner kick ended with Isaac Nana firing an effort on goal, only for Mhlongo to tip the ball over the top.

Yet Chippa did not lack for further scoring chances of their own, and in the 79th minute Mntambo really should have added to his tally after a mistake at the back allowed him a one-one-one chance against Baloyi, but the Stars ‘keeper did just enough to turn the ball away.

The Eastern Cape side were able to see out the remainder of the game with relative comfort to move into the second round of the Nedbank Cup.

Phiva Young Stars 0

Chippa United (2) 2 (Konqobe 14’, Mntambo 30’)

Stars: Baloyi, Canga, Mahlangu, Seete, Nkadimeng, Hlatshwayo, Kekane, Mdaka, Mathebula, Msibi, Nana

Chippa: Mhlongo, Macheke, Nsabiyumva, Konqobe, Mako, Misquissone (Bergman 56’), Mabaso, Mntambo, Rakhale (Seanego 64’), Mdlinzo (Mbenyane 70’), Macuphu