Supersport out of relegation zone

SuperSport United moved out of the relegation zone after beating Free State Stars 3-2 in an Absa Premiership match at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Wednesday night.

The result sees SuperSport up to 14th place on the league table, one point clear of the relegation zone which sees Ajax Cape Town in 15th place.

The loss for Stars sees them remain in fifth place on the table.

SuperSport took the lead in the tenth minute courtesy of a penalty-kick goal from Thabo Mnyamane after Patrick Phungwayo handled the ball inside the box, 1-0.

The next decent effort on goal came in the 25th minute, but Evans Rusike sent his 24-yard pile driver inches over the Free State crossbar.

Stars struggled to find their rhythm in the opening half hour, but finally managed a shot on goal in the 35th minute when Nhlanhla Vilakazi unleashed a powerful shot from the edge of the box which shaved the wrong side of the upright.

The half ended 1-0 in favour of the home side.

Stars pushed forward at the start of the second half and saw their pressure pay off in the 56th minute when Richard Boateng turned the ball into his own net to level matters, 1-1.

SuperSport took control of the game after that and re-took the lead in the 69th minute after some swift interplay ended with Aubrey Modiba tapping home from close range, 2-1.

Stars were not going to go down without a fight and hit back for the second time in the 77th minute when Nyiko Mobbie found the back of the net with a curling 22-yard free-kick, 2-2.

The visiting side’s joy, though, was short-lived as SuperSport stole the win in the 90th minute when Grant Kekana slipped Teboho Mokoena though on goal with a super pass and he made no mistake with just the keeper to beat, 3-2.

SuperSport 3

Mnyamane 10’ pen, Mobida 69’, Mokoena 90’

Free State 2

Boateng 56’ og, Mobbie 77’


SuperSport: Williams, Kekana, Gould Daniels, Boateng, Furman, Letsholonyane (Mokoena 60’), Phala, Modiba (Ngele 85’), Mnyamane (Nkhatha 77’), Rusike.

Free State: Sangare, Mobbie, Phungwayo, Mahamutsa, Masehe, Keita, Dlamini, Vilakazi, Jantjie (Mashego 79’), Tchilimbou (Maphakisa 90’), Mthembu (Anas 83’).