Amakhosi send Ajax into the play-offs

Kaizer Chiefs condemned Ajax Cape Town to the play-offs after beating the Urban Warriors 2-1 in their final Absa Premiership game of the season at Cape Town Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The first shot on goal came in the 11th minute, but Chiefs’ George Maluleka fired a long-range effort inches over the target.

Ten minutes later Ajax nearly took the lead when a goalmouth scramble inside the Chiefs’ box fell to Roscoe Pietersen who attempted a cheeky backheel from close range, but his effort struck the woodwork.

In the 35th minute Ajax should really have taken the lead when Krahire Zakri broke through on goal after latching onto a pin-point pass, but he was thwarted from close range by goalkeeper Brilliant Khuzwayo.

Chiefs had a great opportunity to find the back of the net on the stroke of halftime when Gustavo Paez slipped Bernard Parker into space inside the box, but his 14-yard volley was superbly saved by an acrobatic Jody February.

The half ended 0-0.

Chiefs started the second half well and took the lead in the 52nd minute when Parker headed home a pin-point corner-kick from Maluleka, 1-0.

Ajax, though, were not going to go down without a fight and hit back in the 64th minute when Mosa Lebusa headed home a Rodrick Kabwe corner-kick from ten-yards out, 1-1.

The home side had a great chance to take the lad in the 73rd minute when Roscoe Pietersen met a left-wing cross, but he headed straight at the keeper from point blank range.

Ajax’s chances of surviving relegation were put to bed in the 86th minute when a quick counter-attacking move from Chiefs ended with Joseph Molangoane tucking the ball home from a couple of yards out, 2-1.

The loss leaves Ajax in 15th place on the table and they will now have to fight for their Absa Premiership status in the play-offs which start next week.

Ajax Cape Town (0) 2 (Lebusa 64’, Molangoane 86’)

Kaizer Chiefs (0) 1 (Parker 52’)


Ajax: February, Zwane (Mosadi 71’), Booysen, Lebusa, Pietersen, Kabwe, Nel, Sasman (Morris 46’), Zakri (Losper 46’), Magerman, Lakay.

Chiefs: Khuzwayo, Mphahlele, Cardoso, Ngezana, Molangoane, Katsande, Maluleka, Ntiya-Ntiya (Zulu 55’), Tshabalala, Parker (Mathoho 87’), Paez (Zuma 65’).