2017-18 PSL Awards Nominees announced

The Premier Soccer League today announced the nominees for the 2017/18 #PSLAwards that will be held in just over a week’s time.

Mamelodi Sundowns duo of Hlompho Kekana and Percy Tau have been nominated together with Maritzburg United midfielder Siphesihle Ndovu for the night’s biggest award: 2017/18 PSL Footballer of the Season.

The PSL Footballer of the Season category is voted exclusively by the 16 Premier Division Coaches.

Tau and Ndlovu have also been pitted against each other for the 2017/18 Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season. They are joined by Orlando Pirates midfielder Musa Nyatama as the third nominee.

This category is voted for by the players from the 16 Premier Division clubs. (Players are not allowed to vote for their teammate).

Former PSL Footballer of the Season, Teko Modise, who was part of the press conference today, said: “We have seen some quality football this season. The Footballer of the Season category is really interesting – you have guys with different strengths and I think it can go to any of them. It’s a special award – because it means you are being recognised for being the best in that season. We have the coaches voting for the winner here – so it should be very interest.”

For the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season, Orlando Pirates coach Milutin Sredjoevic will be up against Maritzburg United mentor Fadlu Davids and Mamelodi Sundown’s Pitso Mosimane.

The #PSLAwards will be held on Tuesday night, 29 May 2018 – from 20h00. They will be live on SuperSport 4 and will also be broadcasted on SABC from 21h00.