Wits beat Bloem Celtic to move second

Bidvest Wits recorded a thrilling a 4-2 win over Bloemfontein Celtic in an Absa Premiership match at the Dr Molemela Stadium on Friday night.

The victory moves the Clever Boys to second spot on the league standings, while Phunya Sele Sele remain eighth on the table.

It took only three minutes for the hosts to break the deadlock after the Clever Boys' defence was exposed.

Tebogo Potsane was the man who beat Wits goalkeeper Darren Keet with a decent finish to make it 1-0 to Celtic.

Wits then took control of the match with Lehlohonolo Majoro and Frank Mhango looking lively for the visitors.

Majoro was denied by Celtic goalkeeper Patrick Tignyemb as the Clever Boys piled the pressure on Phunya Sele Sele.

The visitors were awarded a penalty 10 minutes before the halftime break after Mhango was fouled inside the Celtic box by Tshepo Rikhotso.

Wits set-piece speciliast Keegan Ritchie was then denied by Tignyemb from the spot-kick to ensure that the first-half ended with Celtic leading 1-0.

The Clever Boys pushed for the equalising goal after the restart and they deservedly levelled matters through Mhango.

The former Celtic forward beat Celtic's long-serving Cameroonian shot-stopper, Tignyemb, to make it 1-1 two minutes before the hour-mark.

The momentum was with Wits and they managed to double their lead through Gift Motupa, who made it 2-1 with Deon Hotto grabbing an umpteenth assist of the season in the 70th minute.

Celtic never gave up as they restored parity through Tshegofatso Mabaso with four minutes left on the clock to make it 2-2.

However, Terrence Dzvukamanja had other ideas as the Zimbabwean attacker restored the visitors' lead two minutes later to make it 3-2 to Wits.

Dzvukamanja was not done as the 24-year-old attacker sealed Wits' 4-2 victory over Celtic in stoppage-time.

Celtic (1) 2 (Potsane 3', Mabasa 86')

Wits (0) 4 (Mhango 58', Motupa 70', Dzvukamanja 88', 90'+5)

Celtic: Tignyemb, Mahashe, Pfumbidzai, Rikhotso, Mabasa, Tani, Maema (Letsoalo 79'), Mashikinya (Mabena 77'), Dlamini, Potsane (Shikweni 66'), Baloyi.

Wits: Keet, Mere (Monare 69'0, Mkhwanazi, Nonyane, Hlanti, Scott, Alexander, Ritchie (Hotto 59'), Mhango, Dzvukamanja, Majoro (Motupa 61').