Chippa edged out by Wits

Elias Pelembe © @BidvestWits Twitter

Bidvest Wits secured a 1-0 win over Chippa United in an Absa Premiership match at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium on Friday night.

Despite the win, the Clever Boys remained third on the league standings, while the Chilli Boys slipped down to 14th spot.

The visitors dominated the opening stages of the match and they came close to scoring through Thabang Monare and Thulani Hlatshwayo.

Midfield maestro Monare's effort was cleared from the goal-line before defender Hlatshwayo was denied by Chippa goalkeeper Mbongeni Mzimela.

Chippa did threaten through dribbling wizard Thabo Rakhale in the 15th minute, but his effort was easily saved by Wits shot-stopper Ricardo Goss.

Wits thought they had opened the scoring a few minutes before the half-hour mark when Lehlohonolo Majoro scored, but the experienced striker was ruled offside.

However, the Clever Boys continued to attack and they were unlucky not to have scored six minutes before the halftime break.

Buhle Mkhwanazi connected well with the ball, but his header was cleared off the line as the Chilli Boys survived a scare.

The two teams were locked at 0-0 during the halftime break.

The Chilli Boys pushed for the opening goal after the restart and they were awarded a free-kick in a promising area.

However, Mbenyane, who had netted against AmaZulu FC last weekend, was denied by former Lamontville Golden Arrows shot-stopper.

Wits made two changes - introducing Fagrie Lakay and Hashim Domingo as the visitors looked to break the deadlock.

The visitors did open the scoring when Deon Hotto beat Mzimela to make it 1-0 to Wits with Elias Pelembe grabbing an assist.

Chippa coach Clinton Larsen reacted by introducing attacker Ruzaigh Gamildien as the hosts looked to snatch a late goal.

However, Wits stood firm at the back in the closing stages of the game and ultimately, they emerged 1-0 winners over Chippa on the night.

Chippa (0) 0

Wits (0) 1 (Hotto 74')

Chippa: Mzimela, Macheke, Nsabiyumva, Shitolo, Tlolane, Lentjies, Komane, Rakhale, Mayambela (Malepe 65'), Mbenyane (Gamildien 77'), R.Manzini (L.Manzini 65').

Wits: Goss, Hlatshwayo, Mkhwanazi, Nonyane, Hlanti, Monare, Alexander, Dzvukamanja (Domingo 71'), Hotto, Pelembe (Mere 83'), Majoro (Lakay 61').