Lorch bags top honours at PSL awards

Thembinkosi Lorch was the big winner at the Premier Soccer League’s glittering awards banquet in Durban on Sunday night, making partial amends for Orlando Pirates’ heart-breaking loss to Mamelodi Sundowns in the Absa Premiership title race this season.

The 25-year-old attacking midfielder scooped the PSL Footballer of the Season and Absa Premiership Player’s Player of the Season gongs for a great personal impression during a season which ended with his side being pipped to the league crown on the last day of the season.

He edged out the Sundowns duo of Themba Zwane and Hlompho Kekana for the prestigious individual awards, although Kekana did not go home empty-handed as he was voted Absa Premiership Midfielder of the Season among other awards for the Sundowns crew.

In a campaign that also saw him rise to the Bafana Bafana level, Lorch scored nine goals and made five assists, for a 31% involvement in all Pirates’ goals in the league.

The Footballer of the Season award was voted exclusively by the 16 coaches in the Premiership, while the Player’s Player was voted by players, but players were not allowed to vote for their teammates.

Sundowns coach Pitso Mosimane expectedly won the Absa Premiership Coach of the Season for the second year in a row after guiding Sundowns to a successful defence of the Premiership title.

SuperSport United’s Teboho Mokoena won the Young Player of the Season award, while his teammate Ronwen Williams was named Goalkeeper of the Season and the referee’s honour went to Abongile Tom.


PSL Footballer: Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates)

Absa Premiership Player’s Player: Thembinkosi Lorch (Pirates)

Absa Premiership Coach: Pitso Mosimane (Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Young Player: Teboho Mokoena (SuperSport)

Absa Premiership Goalkeeper: Ronwen Williams (SuperSport)

Absa Premiership Defender: Ricardo Nascimento (Sundowns)

Absa Premiership Midfielder: Hlompho Kekana (Sundowns)

Absa-lutely Awesome Goal: Vincent Pule (Pirates)

MTN8 Last Man Standing: Peter Leeuwenburgh (CT City)

Telkom KO Player of the Tournament: Elvis Chipezeze (Baroka)

Nedbank Cup Most Promising Player: Terrence Mashego (TS Galaxy)

Nedbank Cup Player of the Tournament: Zakhele Lepasa (TS Galaxy)

MDC Player: Sipho Chaine (Celtic)

Referee of the Season: Abongile Tom

Assistant Referee of the Season: Emmanuel de Sani