Arrows win late, thanks to Mutizwa

Frederic Nsabiyumva & Knox Mutizwa © Gallo Images

Lamontville Golden Arrows edged out Chippa United 2-1 in an Absa Premiership match at the Sugar Ray Xulu Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

The victory took Abafana Bes'thende to fourth place on the league standings, while the Chilli Boys slipped down to 12th spot on the log.

Abafana Bes'thende were the better in the early exchanges, but the Chilli Boys defence, which was led by Frederic Nsabiyumva, stood firm.

Arrows attacking midfielder Nduduzi Sibiya, who was looking lively for the hosts, came close to opening the scoring just before the half-hour mark.

Sibiya's curling free-kick was well-saved by Chippa goalkeeper Patrick Tignyemb, as the hosts looked to break the deadlock.

Steve Komphela's side did find the back of the net when Sibiya scored with a low shot to make it 1-0 to Arrows in the 31st minute.

Chippa tried to respond with a goal, but Arrows held on to their lead and they were 1-0 up at the interval.

The hosts continued to launch attacks in search of another goal and Danny Phiri tried his luck from range, and his effort went just over the crossbar.

Chippa were looking to play on the counter and Kurt Lentjies missed the target with a long-range shot in the 70th minute.

Clinton Larsen's charges kept pushing for the equalising goal and they were awarded a penalty after Siyabonga Dube was adjudged to have handled the ball in the box.

Boikanyo Komane then stepped up and beat Arrows keeper Edmore Sibanda from the spot-kick to make it 1-1 with nine minutes left on the clock.

Abafana Bes'thende had to find a way to restore their lead in the remaining minutes and they did grab a late winning goal.

Knox Mutizwa was the man who hit the back of the net following a cross from Divine Lunga to seal Arrows' 2-1 victory in stoppage time.

Arrows (1) 2 (Sibiya 31', Mutizwa 90'+4)

Chippa (0) 1 (Komane 81')

Arrows: Sibanda, Dube, Sibisi, Mathiane, Lunga, Sibiya (Lamola 83'), Phiri, Shitolo, Makhubela (Sabelo 75'), M.Gumede (Venter 59'), Mutizwa.

Chippa: Tignyemb, Damos, Nsabiyumva, K.Moyo, E.Moyo, Komane, Maphangule (Twala 46'), Malepe (R.Manzini 75'), Mbenyane (Rakhale 75'), Lentjies, L.Manzini.