Courageous SuperSport humble Chiefs

SuperSport United edged out Kaizer Chiefs 2-1 in an Absa Premiership match at the Mbombela Stadium on Saturday evening.

The victory took Matsatsantsa to the third spot on the league standings, while Amakhosi remained at the top of the table.

SuperSport got off a to a dream start as they grabbed an early goal to make it 1-0 through Bradley Grobler's header from close range in the ninth minute.

It should have been 1-1 five minutes later when George Maluleka rattled the upright with Matsatsantsa's goalkeeper Ronwen Williams well-beaten.

The two teams were attacking each other in an enthralling encounter as Dean Furman was denied by Chiefs keeper Daniel Akpeyi in the 21st minute.

At the other end, four minutes later, Samir Nurkovic hit the woodwork with a powerful strike as Amakhosi looked to level matters.

However, the hosts contained Chiefs and the score was 1-0 to SuperSport during the halftime break following an entertaining first-half.

Chiefs started the second-half brightly and they were awarded a penalty after Clayton Daniels was adjudged to have handled the ball in the box.

Daniel Cardoso then stepped up and beat his Bafana Bafana teammate Williams from the spot-kick to make it 1-1 in the 48th minute.

Thamsanqa Gabuza, who had been introduced at the beginning of the second-half, was looking lively for the home side.

The former Orlando Pirates striker managed to restore SuperSport's lead when he turned home Kudakwashe Mahachi's cross to make it 2-1 just after the hour-mark.

It was end-to-end stuff in the closing stages of the match as Williams made a great save to deny Dumisani Zuma, before Akpeyi denied Ghampani Lungu at the other end.

The visitors pressed the hosts in the closing stages of the match, but SuperSport stood firm at the back and ultimately, they emerged 2-1 winners over Chiefs on the night.

SuperSport (1) 2 (Grobler 9', Gabuza 62')

Chiefs (0) 1 (Cardoso 48')

SuperSport: Williams, Kekana, Bhasera, Nhlapo, Daniels, Furman, Mbule (Gabuza 46'), Rusike (Lungu 69'), Mokoena, Mahachi (Khumalo 73'), Grobler.

Chiefs: Akpeyi, Sasman, Cardoso, Mathoho, Frosler (Moleko 78'), Zulu (Zuma 46') , Maluleka, Parker, Castro, Manyama, Nurkovic.