Chiefs salvage a point

Erick Mathoho’s goal 20 minutes from time ensured that log leaders Kaizer Chiefs and Maritzburg United shared the spoils at a rain soaked Peter Mokaba Stadium in their Absa Premiership encounter on Wednesday night.

United had taken the lead through Mario Booysen’s early goal in the second half.

Chiefs had the first real opportunity of the match when Bernard Parker’s free kick from 25-yards out was on target but Maritzburg keeper Shu-Aib Walters comfortably saved the goal bound shot.

In the 15th minute United were unlucky not to go 1-0 up when Heinrich Isaacks’ took a shot from outside the box and his effort took a deflection which required Chiefs keeper Itumeleng Khune to change his direction and brilliantly parry the ball to safety.

Three minutes later Khune came to the Chiefs rescue again when he acrobatically tipped Ruben Cloete’s shot over the bar.

The half ended 0-0.

Three minutes into the second half, United took the lead.

Chiefs failed to clear the ball from a set piece and the ball rebounded off the Morgan Gould past the goal line, as the Chiefs defender tried to clear the ball it fell into the path of Booysen who slotted home from close.

Chiefs thought they had the ball in the back of the net in the 63rd minute. Parker sent a low cross into the box, but Lehlohonolo Majoro, who made an intelligent run, shot wide from close range.

But the men from Naturena finally found the equaliser six minutes later.

Siphiwe Tshabalala sent an out-swinging corner kick cross to the far side of the box which defender Mathoho rose highest to as he powered home a header to get his first goal in Chiefs colours, and earn his side a share of the spoils.

The draw means that Chiefs till maintain their seven point lead over second place Orlando Pirates who drew their match against AmaZulu 1-1.

Kaizer Chiefs (0)1 (Mathoho 69’)

Maritzburg United (0)1 (M.Booysens 48’)


Kaizer Chiefs: Khune, Gaxa (Dladla 67’), Gould, Mashamaite, Ritchie, Letsholonyane, Katsande, Tshabalala, Mathoho (Ngcobo 83’), Nkhatha (Majoro 60’), Parker

Maritzburg: Walters, Cloete, Awal (De Jong 72’), M. Booysen, Evans, D. Booysen, Buckley (Morton 84’), Hendricks, Sheppard, Isaacks (Mandaza 61’), Malajila