Aces and AmaZulu end 1-1

Two late goals in the second half by Thanduyise Khuboni and Bongi Ntuli saw AmaZulu and Mpumalanga Black Aces earn a point each in a 1-1 draw at the Mbombela Stadium on Saturday night in their Absa Premiership encounter.

The match started with AmaZulu showing more hunger to succeed as Goodman Dlamini tried to repeat what he did in his previous match against SuperSport United, but his shot went wide in the second minute of the match.

In the 16th minute Collins Mbesuma tried to make his presence felt as he took a strike, but Usuthu’s goalkeeper Energy Murambadoro was well positioned to save it.

Mbesuma continued to show his experience as he beat the defence and Khuboni took a shot that was well cleared on the goal line by Ouro-Akoriko which nearly saw Aces taking a lead in the 34 minute.

After this incident both teams tried to search for a goal but could not find the back of the net until halftime which saw the score at 0-0.

In the second half AmaZulu captain Robyn Johannes tried to lead by example as he attacked and got in a shot but unfortunately it went wide.

A minute later Mbesuma came back strong with a threatening shot but Murambadoro made a good save at his near post.

Amazayoni continued combining passes and Ndlovu tried his luck from outside the box but Usuthu’s goalkeeper was not troubled.

In the 79th minute Ndlovu was brought down in the box by Mbulelo Mbizela and it was Khuboni who took the penalty and gave Aces a 1-0 lead.

After this goal Aces lost a bit of concentration and it was the substitutes Philani Shange and Bongani Ndulula who combined their passes and found Bongi Ntuli inside the box and he just tapped in an equaliser for the visitors.

The last chance for Aces came in additional time when Ndlovu’s shot just went inches away from the goalposts.

Black Aces (0) 1 (Khuboni 79’)

AmaZulu (0) 1 ( Ntuli 82’)

Black Aces: Jackson Mabokgwane, Doctor Mampuru, S'boniso Gumede, Lehlohonolo Nonyane, Eddie Ngalo, Edwin Gyimah, Abia Nale ( Ngoma 74’), Thanduyise Khuboni, Collins Mbesuma, Dino Ndlovu, Tendai Ndoro

AmaZulu : Energy Murambadoro, Robyn Johannes, Sedat Ouro-akoriko ( Shange 68’), Mbulelo Mabizela, Roscoe Pietersen, Sfiso Hlanti, Marc Van Heerden ( Mthiyane 84’), John Arwuah, Goodman Dlamini, Bongi Ntuli, Bornwell Mwape, ( Ndulula’ 69’)