Bance, Mayambela give Chippa win

Two second-half goals saw Chippa United run out 2-0 winners over Maritzburg United in an Absa Premiership match at the Harry Gwala Stadium in Pietermaritzburg on Wednesday night.

The away side started the more positive of the two with their first effort on goal in the seventh minute, but Ugonna Uzochukwu fired his shot from the edge of the box just wide of the target.

Chippa continued to dictate terms and created their next opening in the 20th minute, but this time William Twala saw his 18-yard shot well-saved by the Maritzburg keeper.

The home side’s first decent effort on goal only came in the 36th minute when Deolin Mekoa unleashed a thunderous shot from just outside the box, but Daniel Akpeyi made a good save to deny him.

Five minutes later United suffered a bit of a setback when Tawfeeq Salie had to leave the field injured and was replaced by Virgil Vries.

The half ended 0-0.

Maritzburg came out the better side in the second half with their first attempt on goal ten minutes after the restart, but Akpeyi produced a brilliant save to deny Mohammed Anas from just inside the box.

Ryan De Jongh also came close to scoring for the home side in the 64th minute, but again he was thwarted by the acrobatics of Akpeyi at close range.

Ten minutes later, somewhat against the run of play, Chippa took the lead when Aristide Bance turned home a pass from Erick Chipeta.

Chippa made sure of the victory two minutes from time when a thunderous free-kick from Mark Mayambela found the back of the net.

Martizburg United (0) 0
Chippa United (0) 2 (Bance 74’, Mayambela 88’)


Maritzburg: Tawfeeq Salie (Virgil Vries 41’), Kwanda Mngonyama, John Pantsil, Philani Zulu, Kurt Lentjies, Siyabulela Mbali Shai, Ryan De Jong, Ashley Hartog, Brian Onyango (David Booysen 64’), Deolin Mekoa , Mohammed Anas (Evans Rusike 57’)

Chippa: Daniel Akpeyi, Diamond Thopola, Eric Chipeta, James Okwousa, William Thwala (Buyani Sali 76’), Rhulani Manzini (Mark Mayambela 48’), Ugonna Uzochukwu, Mhlengi Cele (Lerato Chabangu 59’), Nkosinathi Mthiyane, Lerato Manzine, Aristide Bance