SuperSport put Highlands to the sword

SuperSport United claimed their first home win in the Absa Premiership this season when they defeated Highlands Park 4-1 at Lucas Moripe Stadium on Sunday.

Matsatsantsa’s two previous games as hosts were goalless draw against Chippa United and Free State Stars, but there was no such stalemate this time around as goals from Thabo Mnyamane, Thuso Phala and Jeremy Brockie (two) took Stuart Baxter’s side to victory.

As for the Lions of the North, the loss is their third in the space of four league matches. Their goal was scored by Brandon Theron.

SuperSport broke the deadlock just past the midway point of the first half, with Thuso Phala racing free down the right before providing a low cross for Thabo Mnyamane to easily score his first goal for Matsatsantsa.

Yet Highlands hit back to level the game in the 32nd minute. Thanduyise Khuboni provided a classy cross from the left flank which allowed Brandon Theron to cushion the ball before sweeping a low shot into the bottom corner to make it 1-1.

United reclaimed the lead on the stroke of halftime, with Phala picking up a diagonal ball from Brockie out on the left flank, before twisting and teasing fullback Ryan Rae to open up space for a low shot which beat Tapuwa Kapini at his near post.

The match was in the balance for most of the second half, but SuperSport took a decisive step toward victory when Jeremy Brockie netted his first in the 73rd minute to make it 3-1. The New Zealand striker received a great through ball from ‘Yeye’ Letsholonyane and beat Kapini with an early shot.

Brockie scored a second nine minutes later to extend Matsatsantsa’s advantage out to 4-1, clinically heading home from an excellent cross provided by strike partner Kingston Nkhatha.

SuperSport United (2) 4 (Mnyamane 24’, Phala 45’, Brockie 73’ 82’)

Highlands Park (1) 1 (Theron 32’)


SuperSport United: Williams, Boxall (Morton 78’), Booysen, Gould, Modiba (Farmer 46’), Phala, Letsholonyane, Furman, Mnyamane, Nkhatha (Mokoena 83’), Brockie

Highlands Park: Kapini, Rae, Isaacs, Ngalo, Sibande, Mvala, Khuboni (Mathibe 75’), Theron (Garcia 77’), Tshabalala, Mashumba (Ditsile 76’), Mbesuma