Platinum Stars draw with Free State Stars

Free State Stars and Platinum Stars drew 1-1 in an Absa Premiership match at the Goble PStadium on Saturday night.

The draw sees Ea Lla Koto remain seventh on the league standings, while Dikwena also remain 16th on the table.

There were no real chances in the first 15 minutes of the match as the two sides battled for control of the midfield.

Robert Ng'ambi had a chance to put Dikwena into the lead in the 22nd minute, but the midfielder placed his header wide of the target.

However, Dikwena did break the deadlock 11 minutes later through Bonginkosi Ntuli after the visitors were awarded a penalty.

Ntuli, who is on loan from Mamelodi Sundowns, fired past Ea Lla Koto goalkeeper Badra Ali Sangare from the spot-kick to make it 1-0 to Dikwena.

The visitors had a chance to make it 2-0 in the 36th minute, but promising attacking midfielder Katlego Otladisa missed the target.

Ea Lla Koto then pressed Dikwena with the halftime break fast approaching and the hosts managed to level matters.

It was Edward Manqele, who beat Dikwena keeper Dino Visser to make it 1-1 in the 43rd minute with Sinethemba Jantjie grabing an assist.

Free State Stars and Platinum Stars were locked at 1-1 at halftime following a tightly contested first-half.

Roger De Sa, the Dikwena coach, introduced Thobani Kunene four minutes after the restart as the visitors looked to restore their lead.

Kunene tried to make an immediate impact, but his header was saved by Ea Lla Koto shot-stopper Sangare in the 54th minute.

Dikwena, who were searching for their first league win of the season, continued to attack and in the 63rd minute Ryan De Jongh's goal bound effort was deflected out.

Ea Lla Koto coach Luc Eymael reacted by pulling out striker Manqele and he introduced Rooi Mahamutsa, a defender by trade with 16 minutes left.

The home side managed to contain Dikwena in the closing stages and ultimately, the match ended in a 1-1 stalemate.

FS Stars (1) 1 (Manqele 43')

P Stars (1) 1 (Ntuli 33')

FS Stars: Sangare, Masehe, Mobbie (Mashego 13'), Keita, Phungwayo, Mbhele, Potsane, Vilakazi (G.Dlamini 56'), Manqele (Mahamutsa 74'), Jantjie, Anas.

P Stars: Visser, De Jongh, Zulu, Sithole, Mwedihanga, Mere, Mkhabela, Ng'ambi, Otladisa (Kunene 49'), Msomi (Mwila 69'), Ntuli (Matlakala 88').