Polokwane City beats Ajax

Polokwane City beat Ajax Cape Town 4-3 on penalties at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Saturday afternoon, to book their place in the next round of the Telkom Knockout Cup.

Rise and Shine join Platinum Stars and Orlando Pirates in the quarterfinals, with the Limpopo side having emerged victorious from 12 yards. The match was deadlocked at 0-0 after 120 minutes of football.

The hosts dominated the early exchanges of the match in unusually chilly conditions in Polokwane, but the Urban Warriors soon found their rhythm.

Mario Booysen guiding his header attempt wide before Tashreeq Morris failed to convert with only George Chigova to beat in the 32nd minute of the match.

The burly shot-stopper was up to the task once more soon after - this time to deny Prince Nxumalo who connected with Thabo Mosadi's inch perfect cross from the right flank.

Jody February - in for the injured Brandon Petersen in the Ajax Cape Town goal - was then called into action at the opposite end of the park. The South Africa U23 international with a great save to deny the dangerous Rodney Ramagalela on the cusp of halftime.

The game continued to ebb and flow following the break with both teams creating chances, but lacking at the vital moment.

With no score forthcoming, the match entered an additional 30 minutes of extra-time.

Ajax Cape Town head coach Stanley Menzo introduced both Sedwyn George and Rodrick Kabwe in an attempt to wrap things up in the additional half-an-hour, but it was not to be with penalties to decide the winner.

Kabwe and Roscoe Pietersen duly missed from 12 yards for the visitors, with Rise and Shine flawless from the spot as they subsequently booked their place in the next round.

Polokwane City (0) 0

Ajax Cape Town (0) 0

Polokwane City won 4-3 on penalties.

Polokwane City: Chigova; Semenya, Ravhuhali, Mbonani, Maponyane, Seabi, Maluleke, Tlolane, Musona (Phiri 96'), Ndou (Booi 72'), Ramagalela (Mngomezulu 83').

Ajax Cape Town: February; Evans, Booysen (Kabwe 98'), Lebusa, Sasman - Pietersen, Mdabuka, Mzwakali (Margeman 80') - Mosadi, Morris (George 90'), Nxumalo.