United and Baroka survive relegation

SuperSport United survived the relegation axe after beating Baroka FC 1-0 in their final Absa Premiership game of the season at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Saturday afternoon.

Baroka thought they had the perfect start to the game when Letladi Madubanya found the back of the net in the third minute, but his goal was disallowed due to him being in an off-sides position.

The next effort on goal only came in the 22nd minute when Aubrey Modiba tried his luck from long range, but his effort went narrowly wide of the Baroka goal.

SuperSport took the lead in the 26th minute when Modiba converted from the penalty spot after Matome Kgoetyane fouled Mogakolodi Ngele inside the box, 1-0.

Baroka tried to find their way back into the game after that and came close two minutes before the break when Tebogo Sodi broke through on goal, but he was superbly denied in a one-on-one with Ronwen Williams.

The half ended 1-0 in favour of the home side.

The second half was a rather poor affair with both sides gifting possession back to the opposition with bad passing and poor decision making in the final third.

Chances on goal were at a bare minimum with Modiba probably coming the closest to another goal just after the hour mark, but his powerful struck long-range shot shaved the wrong side of the post.

In the dying minutes of the match Baroka threw players forward in search of a goal, but they could not break down a well-organised SuperSport defence.

In the end the home side walked away with the three points that would guarantee them a place in the Absa Premiership next season.

Baroka will also being playing in the top flight next season despite the loss after Ajax Cape Town failed to beat Kaizer Chiefs in their final game of the league season.

SuperSport (1) 1 (Modiba 26’ pen)

Baroka (0) 0

SuperSport: Williams, Nhlapo, Daniels, Gould, Bhasera, Furman, Letsholonyane, Modiba (Nkhatha 90’), Phala, Ngele (Mokoena 62’), Rusike.

Baroka: 33 Dlamini, 29 Mohwatseleng, 18 Mapheto, 4 Madubanya, 7 Chawaphiwa, 17 Ngalande (11 Matloga 74’), 24 Banda, 2 Kgoetyane, 21 Moeti (23 Kgaswane 54’), 8 Mdantsane, 25 Tebogo (9 Nguzana 89’).