SuperSport, Chiefs renew cup rivalry

SuperSport United and Kaizer Chiefs will renew their cup rivalry when they meet in the first leg of the 2018 MTN8 semifinals, with the match set for the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Sunday, August 26, kick-off at 15h00.

SuperSport earned their place in the final four by beating Orlando Pirates on penalties in the quarterfinals. The Tshwane side played out a 2-2 draw with the Buccaneers at Orlando Stadium on August 11 – with goals from Dean Furman and Evans Rusike – before winning the post-match shootout 4-3.

Matsatsantsa claimed the MTN8 trophy last season thanks to a 4-2 penalty shootout win over Cape Town City in the final. It was the club’s second Top Eight cup title, following their first success in 2004 when the competition was still known as the SAA Supa8.

Chiefs claimed the most emphatic win over any team in the quarters, thrashing Free State Stars 3-0 at FNB Stadium on August 11. Dumisani Zuma, Leonardo Castro and Khama Billiat all scored to see the Soweto side move into the final four (for the first time since 2015) and claim revenge over Ea Lla Koto for a defeat in the Nedbank Cup at the back end of last season.

The Amakhosi have an unrivalled pedigree in the MTN8, having won it a record 15 times (most recently in 2014). This year’s Top Eight cup must be seen as a priority for Chiefs and new coach Giovanni Solinas, who need a trophy early in the season to convince their demanding fans that a return to the top of South African football is a case of ‘when’ rather than ‘if’.

In head-to-head stats, Chiefs and SuperSport have been regular combatants in cup competitions down the years, meeting in no less than 14 such matches since 1990. The Amakhosi have claimed eight wins compared to five (plus one by penalties) for Matsatsantsa.

The teams’ most recent cup clash was in the quarterfinals of the MTN8 last year, with United winning 1-0 at the Moses Mabhida Stadium thanks to a goal from striker Jeremy Brockie. The Tshwane side went on to win the competition and may see facing Chiefs against as a good omen.

Last season’s league clashes between the teams also saw joy for SuperSport, as they beat the Amakhosi 2-1 away from home in the first half of the season (thanks to strikes from Aubrey Modiba and Bradley Grobler), while the return game at the Mbombela Stadium in January ended in a goalless stalemate.

Head-to-Head (since 1990)


Season Cup Result Scorers

1990 JPS, 1st round Chiefs 1-0 Pta City Maponyane

1994 Bob Save, 1st round Pta City 2-0 Chiefs Maake 2

1996/97 Coca-Cola, 2nd round Chiefs 1-2 SuperSport T. Lebese; Batchelor 2

1998/99 Bob Save, final SuperSport 2-1 Chiefs Madigage, Salmon; Ndlanya (pen)

2004/05 SAA Supa8, final SuperSport 1-0 Chiefs Evan (pen)

2004/05 Coca-Cola, final Chiefs 1-0 SuperSport Mbesuma

2005/06 Absa, 1st round Chiefs 3-1 SuperSport Agyemang 2, Mathebula; Tsabedze

2006/07 SAA Supa8, final Chiefs 1-0 SuperSport Kilambe

2007/08 Telkom, qfinal SuperSport 0-1 Chiefs Tshabalala

2009/10 Nedbank Cup, 1st round SuperSport 1-2 Chiefs Madubanya; Yende, Musona

2012/13 Nedbank Cup, final Chiefs 1-0* SuperSport Parker

2013/14 Nedbank Cup, qfinal Chiefs 2-0 SuperSport G. Lebese

2016/17 Nedbank Cup, qfinal Chiefs 1-1** SuperSport Mphahlele; Brockie

2017/18 MTN8, qfinal Chiefs 0-1 SuperSport Brockie

*After extra time

**After extra time, SuperSport won 5-3 on penalties


Season Result Scorers

2013/14 SuperSport 3-1 Chiefs Mathebula, Chenene, Grobler (pen); Parker (pen)

2013/14 Chiefs 1-0 SuperSport Parker

2014/15 Chiefs 2-0 SuperSport Masango, Nkhatha

2014/15 SuperSport 2-0 Chiefs Brockie, Wome

2015/16 SuperSport 1-4 Chiefs Wome; Lebese 2, Bukenya, Tshabalala

2015/16 Chiefs 2-1 SuperSport Maluleka, Twala; Brockie

2016/17 Chiefs 1-1 SuperSport Lebese; Mnyamane

2016/17 SuperSport 2-2 Chiefs Masango, Modiba; Tshabalala 2

2017/18 Chiefs 1-2 SuperSport Paez; Modiba, Grobler

2017/18 SuperSport 0-0 Chiefs



SuperSport 14 5 1 8 11 15

Chiefs 14 8 1 5 15 11

OVERALL RECORD (all competitions)


SuperSport 69 25 17 27 77 86

Chiefs 69 27 17 25 86 77