Match Facts: SuperSport v CT City

SuperSport United and Cape Town City will be meeting in the MTN8 decider for the second year running and their third cup final in three seasons in all competitions.

The 2018 MTN8 final will be staged at Moses Mabhida Stadium, live on SuperSport’s multiple digital platforms.

The sides played to a 1-1 draw in the 2017 MTN8 final that was also played at Durban’s Moses Mabhida Stadium. Sibusiso Masina had put City ahead, before Thabo Mnyamane equalised for SuperSport. The match went to penalties with Matsatsantsa winning 4-2 on penalties. Lyle Lakay and Judas Moseamedi missed from the spot for City.

The teams also met in the 2016 Telkom Knockout final, where City claimed a maiden trophy in their first season. Their goals were scored by Aubrey Ngoma and Moseamedi, while Kingston Nkhatha netted for SuperSport. The match was played at the Peter Mokaba Stadium in Polokwane.

City have already beaten SuperSport 2-0 this season after the clubs met on the opening day of the league campaign. Goals from Roland Putsche and Craig Martin saw City to the home win at the Cape Town Stadium.

In all the clubs have met on seven previous occasions since City were formed in June 2016 following the purchase of the top-flight status of Mpumalanga Black Aces by owner John Comitis.

City have edged the head-to-head with two wins to one for SuperSport, while four matches have been drawn. They have also edged the goals scored 9-8.

Including this match, all three of the previous meetings in cup competitions between the sides have been finals, with a win for City (Telkom Knockout) and a draw (MTN8).

Both coaches are seeking their first trophies. City’s Benni McCarthy is in his second season with the club after joining in July 2017, while Kaitano Tembo took over from Eric Tinkler in March 2018.

Seven different players have scored for City against SuperSport in previous meetings, but of those only Putsche and Martin remain at the club.

City are the third club in the MTN8 era to appear in back-to-back finals. Orlando Pirates have managed it twice (2010 & 2011 and 2013 & 2014), and Kaizer Chiefs once before (2014 & 2015).

SuperSport are appearing in their 10th cup final in the last six seasons, more than any other PSL team over that period. They have won five of the previous nine deciders.