PSL announces #MTN8 Quarter-final venues, kick-off times

The #MTN8 defending champions, Cape Town City will be involved in the opening act of the 2019/20 edition of the MTN8 on Saturday, 17 August 2019.

Benni McCarthy’s Cape Town City, who won the trophy last season beating SuperSport United on penalties, will play Polokwane City at Newlands Stadium at 15h00.

The PSL confirmed that all quarter-final fixtures will be played on Saturday and Sunday. On Saturday, there will be three fixtures with only one fixture played on Sunday. Tickets will be selling at R40 for adults and R15 for children under the age of 12.

At 18h00 on Saturday, Orlando Pirates – two-time champions – will play Highlands Park –a side that is still trying to negotiate a first appearance in the MTN8 final.

Mamelodi Sundowns and Bloemfontein Celtic will contest the last fixture of the day on Saturday at 20h15 at Lucas Moripe Stadium.

On Sunday, Bidvest Wits and SuperSport United – two clubs that have won this trophy before (Bidvest Wits in 2016 and SuperSport United in 2017) – will clash at Bidvest Stadium at 15h00.


Saturday, 17 August 2019
- Cape Town City vs. Polokwne City, Newlands Stadium (15h00)
- Orlando Pirates vs. Highlands Park, Orlando Stadium (18h00)
- Mamelodi Sundowns vs. Bloemfontein Celtic (20h15)

Sunday, 18 August 2019
- Bidvest Wits vs. SuperSport United (15h00)

Additional notes for media:

Football Fans can also connect with the Tournament on the following #MTN8 Digital Platforms:
- Tournament URL:
- Facebook page: Official PSL and MTN South Africa
- Twitter handles: @OfficialPSL/ @MTN8 / @MTNZA / - Hashtag: #MTN8