SuperSport rally to beat Baroka on penalties, advance in TKO

Defending Telkom Knockout Cup champions Baroka FC suffered a 3-2 penalty shoot-out (1-1 after extra-time) defeat to Supersport United at the Lucas Moripe Stadium in Atteridgeville on Saturday evening.

Mduduzi Mdantsane, who played a starring role in leading Bakgaga to cup glory last December, scored the opener and what looked sure to be the winner for last season's champions before Bradley Grobler's stoppage-time equaliser.

No goals followed in the ensuing 30 minutes of extra-time and despite missing their first two penalties, Matsatsantsa rallied once more to bundle Bakgaga out of the knockout tournament and book their place in the quarterfinals.

The opening goal of the game came just short of the hour mark as Bakgaga were awarded a penalty after Onismor Bhasera pushed Richard Mbulu over in the penalty area.

Mdantsane stepped up to the plate and coolly slotted the ball past Ronwen Williams to give the hosts the lead.

The Baroka captain's goal looked sure to be enough as Bradley Grobler and Clayton Daniels saw their attempts canon off the crossbar and whistle inches wide in regulation time.

But Grobler had other ideas and with virtually the final kick of the second-half, the forward levelled matters. The Bafana Bafana striker well positioned to drive home his eighth goal of the season in the sixth minute of additional time.

Following a goalless 30 minutes of extra-time, penalties duly followed. Elvis Chipezeze denied both Dean Furman and Clayton Daniels from 12 yards, but the Baroka shot-stopper wasn't backed up by his outfield players with Gerald Phiri Jnr, Richard Mbulu and Sbonelo Ngubane squandering their respective efforts.

This offered Thamsanqa Gabuza a chance to seal the deal and the towering forward made no mistake; confidently dispatching his attempt to lead Matsatsantsa into the next round.

SuperSport United (0) 1 (Grobler 90+6)

Baroka FC (0) 1 (Mdantsane 59')

Supersport United won 3-2 on penalties.

Supersport United: Williams; Kekana, Daniels, Khumalo, Bhasera (Qalinge 77'), Furman, Mbule (Rusike 63'), Mokoena, Modiba (Mahachi 68') Gabuza, Grobler.

Baroka FC: Chipezeze; Ngubane, Sibiya, Ntswane, Shozi, Kambala (Mosele 64'), Nsimba (Dickens 90+4'), Mdantsane, Patjie (Farmer 88'), Phiri Jnr, Mbulu.