Highlands Park book place in quarterfinals

Highlands Park beat Kaizer Chiefs 5-4 on penalties (1-1 after extra-time) to book their place in the quarterfinals of this season's Nedbank Cup at a rain drenched Makhulong Stadium in Tembisa on Saturday afternoon.

Musa Nyatama scored the decisive penalty for The Lions of the North after Khama Billiat struck the woodwork with his attempt.

Peter Shalulile fired Highlands in front before Sello Motsepe's own goal and both teams had several chances to win the game in normal play, but ultimately the tussle would be decided by means of a penalty shootout.

The hosts were the better team for most of the the first-half and deservedly opened the scoring in the 57th minute as Shalulile continued his scoring hot streak.

Luckyboy Mokoena and Shalulile linked up for the umpteenth time this season with latter profiting from a precise free-kick to bundle the ball home from close range. The goal was the Namibian's third in two Nedbank Cup games this season.

Chiefs pulled level five minutes later albeit through rather fortune circumstances as Motsepe headed the ball past his own goalkeeper from an Amakhosi set-piece.

With no winner forthcoming in regulation time the game proceeded to an additional 30 minutes of extra-time.

Willard Katsande headed over from close range in Chiefs' best chance of extra-time while Itumeleng Khune kept the visitors in the game with a superb save to deny Nyatama from close range with 113 minutes on the clock.

Rodney Ramagalela and George Maluleka were the only two players to miss in the first 10 penalties before Billiat's miscued effort. Former Orlando Pirates midfielder Nyatama duly stepped up and rifled home the winner to send the home fans into delirium.

Highlands Park (0) 1 (Shalulile 57')

Kaizer Chiefs (0) 1 (Motsepe og. 62')

Highlands Park won 5-4 on penalties.

Highlands Park: Heugh; Mokoena (Nyatama 69'), Mbhele, Fransman, Banda, Mzava, Rae, Mogaila (Ramagalela 75'), Motsepe, Mbatha, Shalulile.

Kaizer Chiefs: Khune; Sasman, Cardoso, Mathoho, Moleko, Agay (Maluleka 46'), Katsande, Parker (Zuma 46'), Billiat, Manyama, Nurkovic.