Ten-man Bidvest Wits sign off with a win

Beinvenu Eva Nga & Keenan Phillips © Gallo Images

Bidvest Wits signed off with a 3-1 Absa Premiership win over Polokwane City in their final game at FNB Stadium on Saturday evening. 

> > > HIGHLIGHTS from all the PSL games . . .

Goals from Bienvenu Eva Nga, Cole Alexander and Phathutshedzo Nange spearheaded the Clever Boys to all three points and a fourth place finish in what was their final game before ceasing to exist. Tshakhuma Tsha Madzivhandila bought the club's top-flight status in June. 

Rise and Shine slumped to another defeat despite Lorenzo Gordinho's sending off and the Limpopo club were duly officially condemned to a last place finish and GladAfrica Championship football next season.

Keenan Phillips teed up Eva Nga for the game's opener in the 40th minute. The Bidvest Wits academy graduate delivered an inch-perfect pass to the Cameroonian's feet who made no mistake from close range. 

Bidvest Wits were then dealt a major blow on the cusp of half-time as Lorenzo Gordinho received his marching orders for a foul on Kabelo Mahlasela. 

Rise and Shine -- initially -- made good use of their man advantage and levelled matters in the 50th minute. Ricardo Goss pulled off a terrific save to keep out Charlton Mashumba's initial effort but the rebound bounced off both Mpho Mvelase and S'fiso Hlanti and into the back of the net. 

Alexander restored the Clever Boys' lead in the 63rd minute after outmuscling Jabulani Maluleke and placing the ball past George Chigova in the Polokwane goal. 

Nange doubled the hosts advantage with virtually the final kick of the game: curling the ball into the corner of the net from the edge of the area as Bidvest Wits signed off in some style.

Bidvest Wits: (1)  3 (Eva Nga 40' Alexander 63' Nange 90+5') 
Polokwane City: (0) 1 (Hlanti og 50') 

Bidvest Wits: Goss; Hlanti, Gordinho, Hlatshwayo, Phillips, Alexander, Monare (Nange 26'), Ritchie, Human (September 87'), Eva Nga (Dzvukamanja 71') Macuphu (Nonyane 46') 

Polokwane City: Chigova; Bhuthelezi (Nku 51'), Motloung, Nkili, Mvelase, Chauke (Anas 52'), Manaka, Mahlasela (Tlolane 73'), Maluleke, Musona, Mashumba.