Mamelodi Sundowns beat Chippa to go five points clear

Mamelodi Sundowns secured a comfortable 2-0 win over Chippa United in a DStv Premiership match at the Loftus Versfeld Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The win saw Masandawana open a five-point lead at the top of the league standings, while the Chilli Boys remained 13th on the table.

Masandawana dominated the match from the first whistle with Themba Zwane, Peter Shalulile and Lebohang Maboe combing well in the Chilli Boys' half.

The deadlock was broken seven minutes before the half-hour mark after a good move involving Shalulile and Maboe.

Shalulile received the ball on the left-hand side and he delivered a quality cross for Maboe, who headed past Chippa goalkeeper Ayanda Mtshali to make it 1-0 to Sundowns.

Zwane also tried to put his name on the score sheet in the 32nd minute, but Mtshali was alert as the shot-stopper produced a fine save to deny the Sundowns attacker.

However, Mtshali was beaten for the second time on the day six minutes before the halftime break with Shalulile grabbing his second assist of the match.

The former Highlands Park striker unselfishly passed the ball to Gaston Sirino, who hit the back of the net to make it 2-0 to Sundowns heading into the halftime break.

The Chilli Boys found it difficult to penetrate the Masandawana defence after restart and coach Dan Malesela decided to make a double substitution.

The former Sundowns captain introduced Tumiso Mogakwe and Kurt Lentjies in the 55th minute as the visitors looked to pull one back.

However, Masandawana continued to dominate and Zwane's effort was blocked on the goal-line just after the hour-mark, before Shalulile was denied by Mtshali from close range.

Mosa Lebusa thought he had extended the hosts' lead with 15 minutes left on the clock, but the Sundowns defender's goal was disallowed for offside.

Ultimately, Sundowns emerged 2-0 winners on the day after containing Chippa in the closing stages of the encounter.

Sundowns (2) 2 (Maboe 23', Sirino 39')

Chippa (0) 0

Sundowns: Onyango, Lakay, Lebusa, Nascimento, Jali (Coetzee 71'), Sirino (Motupa 71'), Mkhulise (Modiba 86'), Maboe, Zwane (Domingo 71'), Erasmus (Kapinga 61'), Shalulile.

Chippa: Mtshali, Damons (Lebitso 36'), Hanamub, Nsabiyumva, Konqobe (Lentjies 55'), Nhlapo, Mdlinzo, Cezu (Kwem 36'), Mbenyane, Mokhele (Laffor 76'), Maloisane (Mogakwe 55').