Mahlatsi fires Swallows into Nedbank Cup last-16

Swallows FC claimed a narrow 1-0 win over Cape United in a Nedbank Cup last-32 match at Dobsonville Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

Victory booked the Beautiful Birds' place in the next round, while the Spirited Ones bowed out of the South African cup competition.

Swallows dominated the match from the start, but they failed to turn their possession into clear cut chances in the early proceedings.

The hosts upped the tempo towards the half-hour mark and they had an opportunity to break the deadlock through Kgaogelo Sekgota in the 24th minute. The South Africa under-23 international cut inside from the left before unleashing a shot which was fantastically saved by Umoya goalkeeper Llyod Kazapua.

Ruzaign Gamildien, who was making his return from suspension, turned his marker brilliantly inside the box before setting up Sipho Sibiya. However, Sibiya was ruled offside just when he was about to tap the ball home to hand the Beautiful Birds the lead in the 37th minute.

The Soweto giants continued to control the match after the restart and they managed to break the deadlock through Kamohelo Mahlatsi. The former SuperSport United attacker beat Namibia international Kazapua with a decent finish to make it 1-0 to Swallows, four minutes before the hour-mark.

Umoya coach Roger De Sa reacted by introducing the attack-minded trio of Gabriel Nyoni, Eleazar Rodgers and Asanda Dyani in the 65th minute.

However, Thela Ngobeni was in good form between the sticks for Swallows as he denied Manti Mekoa and Rodgers as the Spirited Ones looked to level matters.

With his side under siege, Swallows head coach Brandon Truter introduced defenders Vuyo Mere and Phetso Maphanga in the 82nd minute as the hosts looked to stifle the visitors.

Swallows then stood firm at the back in the closing stages of the match and ultimately, the 2009 Nedbank Cup champions emerged 1-0 winners over their GladAfrica Championship opponents on the day.

Swallows FC (0) 1 (Mahlatsi 56')

Cape United (0) 0


Swallows FC:Ngobeni, Sekgota (Mere 82'), Sait, Gamildien, Matlaba, Hlanti, Nyatama, Mahlatsi, Seabi (Maphanga 82'), Sibiya, Basadien (Mhlongo 72').

Cape United:Kazapua, Mdunyelwa, Kammies, Pietersen, Gumede, Mekoa, Morton (Dubula 90'), Poggenpoel, Ndondo (Dyani 65'), E.Khumalo (Rodgers 65'), Mapfumo (Nyoni 65').