Richards Bay stun 10-man Kaizer Chiefs

Richards Bay FC booked their spot in the Nedbank Cup last-16 with a 2-1 win over 10-man Kaizer Chiefs at FNB Stadium on Sunday evening.

Siyabonga Vilane scored a stoppage-time winner for the Natal Rich Boyz as Chiefs fell to defeat against lower league opposition yet again. Leonardo Castro had levelled matters for the hosts, who had Siphosakhe Ntiya-Ntiya sent off, following Thabani Dube's first-half opener.

Richards Bay opened the scoring in the 29th minute. Daniel Akpeyi misjudged Khanyisa Mayo's corner-kick allowing Dube to nod home from close range after the ball floated over the outstretched arm of the Chiefs shot-stopper.

In an attempt to breath new life into his team, Gavin Hunt made no fewer than four changes during the halftime break and the Amakhosi gradually improved with Malcolm Jacobs called into action in the 54th minute to keep out Samir Nurkovic's bullet header.

Chiefs have been their own worst enemy for most of the season and were at it again 10 minutes later as Ntiya-Ntiya received his marching orders following a second bookable offence.

But despite being a man down, the Amakhosi were able to level matters through Castro who fired home via the inside of the post while lying flat on his back in the 76th minute.

With momentum on their side, Chiefs conjured chances to win the game with Lebogang Manyama and Castro missing attempts they would've buried last season.

The hosts were made to rue their missed opportunities in the 91st minute of the game as Richards Bay landed a late blow. Bayzel Goldstone's rasping effort cannoned off the woodwork and into the path of Vilane who tapped into an open net to seal a historic win for the KwaZulu-Natal club.

Kaizer Chiefs (0) 1 (Castro 76')

Richards Bay FC (1) 2 (Dube 29' Vilane 90+1')


Kaizer Chiefs:Akpeyi; Ntiya-Ntiya, Cardoso, Akumu, Moleko, Matsheke (Blom 46'), Ntshangase (Manyama 46'), Parker (Castro 46'), Mashiane (Zuma 46'), Ngcobo (Frosler 68'), Nurkovic.

Richards Bay FC:Jacobs; Mabua, Dube, Zulu, Maphathe, Bakah, Mtolo, Mthembu (Goldstone 73'), Ogbonna (Maphakisa 52'), Mayo (Mabuya 52'), Ntsundwana (Vilane 74').