Nedbank Cup round of 16 teams confirmed

After a thrilling week of the Nedbank Cup Round of 32 fixtures, the top 16 teams will now move on to the next round in pursuit of the Nedbank Cup trophy and R7 million prize money. Post the final fixture tonight, Premier Soccer League and tournament sponsors, Nedbank, hosted the round of 16 draw in Sandton, Johannesburg.

The Nedbank Cup season kick-off on Wednesday, 3 February saw Nedbank Cup defending champions Mamelodi Sundowns defeating Stellenbosch FC at the Loftus Versveld stadium. The final match of the last 32 round took place on Monday evening at Peter Mokaba stadium.

While the country continues to operate under lockdown, Nedbank is urging all South Africans to continue playing their part in the fight against the pandemic. The bank also aims to assist footballers and all South Africans recover financially and reach their goals in 2021.

Nedbank Retail and Business Banking Marketing Executive, Buli Ndlovu said, “Seeing the effects of Covid-19 in society, we launched the #PlayYourPart movement to encourage South Africans to unite in the fight against the pandemic. While we urge everyone to continue the fight against Covid-19, this year, our aim is to help South Africans recover by driving financial education and enhancing financial inclusion. As a financial service institution and title sponsor of the Nedbank Cup, we have a duty to educate our nation and get footballers and South Africans into the habit of managing money well.”

The round of 16 dates, kick-off times and venues will be confirmed by the PSL in due course.

Nedbank will also be launching exciting initiatives and activities as part of their Nedbank Cup 2021 season campaign.