Swallows, AmaZulu share the spoils

Thabo Matlaba & Luvuyo Memela © Gallo Images

Swallows FC were held to a 0-0 draw by AmaZulu FC in a DStv Premiership match at the Dobsonville Stadium on Sunday afternoon. 

The draw saw the unbeaten Beautiful Birds climb up to third place on the league standings, while Usuthu remained seventh on the log. 

The match got off a lively start with both teams launching attacks with Swallows goalkeeper Thela Ngobeni denying Lehlohonolo Majoro in the first minute.

At the other end, AmaZulu shot-stopper Veli Mothwa produced a decent save to deny Kamohelo Mahlatsi as the hosts looked to break the deadlock.

The Beautiful Birds took control of the match towards the half-hour mark, but they were struggling to penetrate the Usuthu defence.

The hosts resorted to long-range shots with Thabo Matlaba trying his luck from distance in the 40th minute and his attempt was well-saved by Mothwa.

This served as a wake-up call for Usuthu, who then pushed forward in numbers and they were awarded a free-kick in a promising area.

However, the set-piece was cleared away by Swallows' lanky defender Njabulo Ngcobo to ensure that the first-half ended with the two teams locked at 0-0. 

The two teams struggled to create goalscoring opportunities after the restart and both sides gave away possession cheaply in the final third.

Zaphaniah Mbokoma and Musa Nyatama were introduced by Swallows head coach Brandon Truter in the 66th minute as the hosts looked to break the deadlock.

AmaZulu remained solid and compact at the back, and their head coach Benni McCarthy brought on Siphelele Mthembu, who is a striker by trade, with nine minutes left.

Mthembu was looking to use his imposing physique to unsettle the Beautiful Birds' defence and grab a late winning goal for Usuthu.

However, Swallows were able to contain the experienced marksman in the dying minutes of the match and ultimately, the game ended in a 0-0 draw. 

Swallows (0) 0
AmaZulu (0) 0

SWALLOWS: Ngobeni, Mere, Ngcobo, Letlabika, Matlaba, Mokoena, Mthethwa (Basadien 78'), Thibedi (Nyatama 66'), Sekgota (Mhlongo 83'), Mahlatsi (Mbokoma 66') Gamildien (Malinga 83').

AMAZULU: Mothwa, Sikhakhane (Mgwazela 46'), Mabiliso, Gumede, Xoki, Makhaula, Kewuti (Mzava 83'), Mlambo (Magubane 46'), Majoro (Mthembu 71'), Memela, Mulenga (Maduna 83').