Chippa beat City in extra-time to book last eight spot

Bienvenu Eva Nga scored late into extra-time as Chippa United booked their spot in the Nedbank Cup quarterfinals with a 2-1 win over Cape Town City at Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium in Gqeberha (Port Elizabeth) on Sunday evening.

Goals from Augustine Kwem and Abdul Ajagun in regulation time were followed by a neat finish by Eva Nga as Chilli Boys head coach Dan Malesela claimed another scalp in a competition he thrives in.

Chippa suffered an early blow as Frederic Nsabiyumva was forced from the field in the 15th minute, but the Chilli Boys recovered from that setback and weathered an early City storm to open the scoring against the run of play.

Maloisane Mokhele slipped a perfect ball in behind the Citizens defence and having beaten the offside trap with a well timed run, Kwem burst on the ball and held his cool with a fine finish past Peter Leeuwenburgh to fire Chippa in front in the 27th minute.

City had a golden chance to level matters five minutes before the break as Surprise Ralani sent Tashreeq Morris through on goal but after having skipped past the goalkeeper, the forward was denied by Thamsanqa Sangweni who made a superb last ditch tackle.

Jan Olde Riekerink made three changes at the start of the second-half and his decision paid dividends in the 66th minute.

Keanu Cupido's header from a corner-kick was cleared off the line and straight into the path of Ajagun who thumped the ball into an empty net on debut.

City battled through injuries in extra-time and played large portions of the additional 30 minutes with a man less and Chippa capitalised, as Eva Nga sunk the wounded visitors with a neat back-heel finish in the 116th minute.

Chippa United (1) 2 (Kwem 27' Eva Nga 116')

Cape Town City (0) 1 (Ajagun 66')

Chippa United: Mtshali; Hanamub, Nsabiyumva (Cezu 15') [Lentjies 71'], Mthethwa, Mobbie, Sangweni, Mdlinzo, Mokhele, Laffor (Maloisane 72'), Mbenyane, Kwem (Eva Nga 72').

Cape Town City: Leeuwenburgh; Mashego (Cupido 46'), Fielies, Mobara, Martin, Mokeke (Ajagun 46') [Mkhize 105'], Nodada, Ralani (Ngoma 91'), Lakay (Shonga 46'), Mdantsane, Morris.