AmaTuks claim the scalp of Chilli Boys

Chippa United became the first top-flight casualty in the Nedbank Cup after they suffered a 2-0 defeat to the University of Pretoria in the round of 32 on Friday afternoon.

The clash at the Tuks Stadium was settled by two late goals as Lulama Maqoko struck the opener for AmaTuks 10 minutes from time before Kamohelo Pheeane added a second shortly afterwards to book their passage into the next round of the competition.

Chippa almost got off to a flying start when Ronald Pfumbidzai saw his looping header tipped over the goal by Tuks keeper Thakasani Mbanjwa in the second minute.

The hosts threatened to break the deadlock five minutes later as Thabang Sekotlong raced through on goal, but his attempt to round Ayanda Mtshali didn't succeed.

Play was then halted for nearly half an hour due to lightning strikes in the area and when the action eventually resumed, Etiose Ighodaro wasted a glorious chance to open the scoring on 19 minutes when he headed wide at the back post from Ayanda Mvambi's cross.

Thokozani Sekotlong should have done better for the Chilli Boys after being fouled just outside the box on 27 minutes, but the forward failed to hit the target from the resulting free-kick.

The cup-tie remained goalless at the break, although Chippa were quickly on the attack in the second half and Veluyeke Zulu missed the target with a header in the 49th minute.

Pfumbidzai was presented with an even better opportunity 10 minutes later, but somehow steered his header over the crossbar from inside the six-yard box.

Substitute Mogakolodi Ngele tried his luck from distance on 70 minutes after being afforded time and space, but his shot sailed wide of the mark.

However, AmaTuks ramped up the pressure in the closing stages and their efforts were rewarded with two goals in quick succession.

The visitors were caught cold after Maqoko beat Mtshali in the 80th minute, with Pheeane scoring again moments later to secure victory for the Pretoria outfit.

University of Pretoria (0) 2 (Maqoko 80, Pheeane 81')

Chippa United (0) 0


University of Pretoria:T.Mbanjwa, K.Majadibodu, L.Maqoko, K.Allan, S.Msani, S.Julies, S.Mpedi, A.Mvambi (S.Barns 68'), E.Ighodaro, L.Phewa, T.Sibanyoni (K.Pheeane 59').

Chippa United:A.Mtshali, R.Pfumbidzai, R.Pietersen, V.Zulu, S.Mkhize, S.Mdlinzo (T.Mini 82'), S.Mthethwa, M.Mokhele (M.Ngele 46'), T.Lebitso, V.Campher, T.Sekotlong (S.Luthuli 56').