AmaZulu edge Swallows in Dobsonville

AmaZulu defeated Swallows FC 1-0 as Brandon Truter masterminded a win over his former side in the DStv Premiership match at the Dobsonville Stadium on Tuesday evening.

Despite the win, Usuthu remained seventh on the league standings, but they are now a point behind fourth-placed Orlando Pirates, while Amaswaiswai remained in the relegation playoff spot (15th).

Amaswaiswai were the better side in the opening exchanges as they controlled the match, but they were only able to create half-chances which they could keep on target.

However, Usuthu grew into the game gradually with Makhehlene Makhaula battling with Musa Nyatama for control of the midfield in the centre of the pitch.

AmaZulu captain Makhaula was superbly denied by goalkeeper Jody February, before Monnapule Saleng forced shot-stopper Veli Mothwa into a fine save at the other end.

The score was 0-0 during the half-time break with the two teams having created few clear cut chances towards the end of the first half.

Ruzaign Gamildien was introduced by Swallows head coach Dylan Kerr prior to the start of this second half as the hosts looked to break the deadlock.

The former Bafana Bafana international hit the side-netting with a well-taken effort, before Dillon Solomons hit the woodwork with Usuthu under siege.

Kerr's counterpart and former Swallows coach Truter reacted by introducing Andre De Jong and the substitute made an immediate impact.

The New Zealand international played a defence-splitting pass for Sphesihle Maduna who scored with a right-footed shot to make it 1-0 to AmaZulu in the 68th minute.

Truter then pulled out attack-minded Maduna and introduced defender Tericous Malepe and the visitors were then able to contain Swallows, and ultimately, AmaZulu secured a 1-0 win.

Swallows 0
AmaZulu 1 (Maduna 68')

Swallows: February, Solomons (Wambi 76'), Sait, Sasman, Basadien, Nyatama, Mahlatsi, Margeman (Matlou 84'), Saleng (Mvelase 84'), Ndlovu (Gamildien 46'), Musonda.

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Gumede, Zulu, Xoki, Mobara, Buchanan, Makhaula, Mlambo (Sikhakhane 60'), Memela, Maduna (Malepe 76'), Mthembu (Moremi 60').