Honours even between Maroons and Babina Noko

Stellenbosch extended their unbeaten run in the DStv Premiership to 14 games after they shared the spoils in a 0-0 draw with Sekhukhune United at the Danie Craven Stadium on Saturday, April 6.

Steve Barker's side still have a four-point cushion to Babina Noko in second place, although Orlando Pirates (4th) and SuperSport United (5th) have a chance to reduce the deficit when they play later on in the evening.

The Maroons had beaten Kaizer Chiefs 1-0 in midweek to go four points clear of the chasing pack, while Babina Noko saw a five-match unbeaten run come to an end with a 2-2 draw against Cape Town City four days ago.

Lehlohonolo Seema's side pinned Stellies back inside their own half in the opening stages, but there was no real goalmouth action until the 24th minute when Jamie Webber sent a shot straight at Sage Stephens following a corner.

The Cape Winelands outfit finished the half stronger though, as Anicet Oura missed the target from close range on 33 minutes after being picked out by Iqraam Rayners, who threatened himself seven minutes later with a shot that was deflected behind for a corner.

The second half was a much livelier affair and Badra Sangare had to be alert seven minutes after the restart to keep out a long-range shot from the home team before Linda Mntambo went close at the other end with a strike from distance that flew just wide of the goal on 55 minutes.

Sangare came to the visitors' rescue again on the 65-minute mark as he made three saves in quick succession to keep the Maroons at bay.

Stellies toiled away in the closing stages, but they were unable to make the breakthrough and had to settle for a point in the end.

The two teams are set to clash again in the league on April 17 at the Peter Mokaba Stadium following the latest round of the Nedbank Cup which takes place next weekend.

Stellenbosch (0) 0

Sekhukhune United (0) 0

Stellenbosch: S. Stephens, D. van Rooyen, T. Moloisane, I. Toure, F. Basadien, D. Titus (A. Van Wyk 79'), N. Mgaga, S. Nduli, A. Oura, I. Rayners, A. de Jong.

Sekhukhune United: B. Sangare, N. Mobbie, T. Tshibwabwa, D. Cardoso, S. Ntiya-Ntiya, V. Mncube (T. Masiya 84'), K. Mokotjo, S. Mkhize, E. Mokwana, J. Webber, L. Mntambo.