SuperSport United held at home by Mamelodi Sundowns

SuperSport United and Mamelodi Sundowns drew 1-1 in the 2019 MTN8 semifinal first-leg match at the Lucas Moripe Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The second-leg clash will be played at the same venue on Wednesday, September 18.

The Brazilians got off to bright start and they should have scored seven minutes into the game with the Matsatsantsa defence exposed.

Lebohang Maboe, Gaston Sirino and Sibusiso Vilakazi all had chances to score within a short period time, but the ball was eventually cleared off the goal-line.

The hosts did not sit back as they pushed forward in numbers and Bradley Grobler narrowly missed the target, before Sundowns defender Anele Ngcongca made a brilliant goal-line clearance.

The deadlock was finally broken four minutes before halftime when Onismor Bhasera's cross was headed home by Thamsanqa Gabuza to make it 1-0 to SuperSport.

However, the Matsatsantsa defence went to sleep and they were punished by Uruguayan attacking midfielder Gaston Sirino.

The diminutive attacker beat SuperSport goalkeeper Ronwen Williams with a well-taken shot to make it 1-1 for Sundowns heading into the halftime break.

SuperSport started the second very well and they could have been 2-1 up when Wayne Arendse deflected the ball towards the Sundowns goal-posts.

However, experienced keeper Denis Onyango made a sensational save in order to keep the visitors in the game.

Sundowns then mounted pressure on the hosts as Williams had to produce a great save from Tebogo Langerman's left-footed shot just before the hour-mark.

The Bafana Bafana keeper was also called into action in the 76th minute and he made another good save, and this time he was denying Zwane, who tried to score with a snapshot.

SuperSport regained control of the match towards the end of the match, but Sundowns stood firm at the back and ultimately, the game ended in a 1-1 stalemate.

SuperSport (1) 1 (Gabuza 41')

Sundowns (1) 1 (Sirino 42')

SuperSport: Williams, Nhlapo, Daniels, Khumalo, Bhasera (Modiba 86'), Furman, Mokoena (Webber 72'), Mbule, Rusike (Qalinge 82'), Gabuza, Grobler.

Sundowns: Onyango, Ngconca, Arendse, Lebusa, Langerman, Seabi, Kekana, Zwane (Lakay 90'+1), Sirino (Mabunda 88'), Vilakazi (Mkhulise 80'), Maboe.