Ten-man Celtic hold Chippa to draw

Peter Maloisane & Thato Lingwati © Gallo Images

Ten-man Bloemfontein Celtic held Chippa United to a 1-1 draw in a 2020-21 DStv Premiership match at Dr Petrus Molemela Stadium on Saturday afternoon. 

Siwelele played most of the game with a man less following a red card to Tshepo Rikhotso on the cusp half-time. Victor Letsoalo opened the scoring for the hosts from the penalty spot before Bienvenu Eva Nga's second-half equaliser. A point is enough to move Celtic up to eighth while Chippa remain 13th on the league standings, five points above the relegation zone. 

Celtic were offered a golden chance to open the scoring in the 11th minute following a reckless challenge on Lucky Baloyi from Mduduzi Sibeko in the penalty area. Letsoalo stepped up to the spot and made no mistake with a cool finish for his fourth goal of the year. 

Peter Maloisane weaved his way past a few Celtic defenders but directed his resulting effort three minutes later straight at Celtic goalkeeper Sipho Chaine, as Chippa aimed for an immediate reply. 

The Chilli Boys conjured a further chance through Andile Mbenyane in 42nd minute. The Chippa forward hit a sweet volley attempt at goal but Chaine pulled off a superb reflex save to deny the visitors. 

Phunya Sele Sele were dealt a major blow two minutes laster as Rikhotso received his marching orders for a mistimed tackle from behind on Anthony Laffor. 

Chippa pushed for the equaliser following the break and finally found the back of the net in the 73rd minute through Eva Nga. The Cameroonian striker powered home Riaan Hanamub's pin-point cross from close range for his first goal in the league since early November. 

Both teams had chances to snatch all three points, but in the end they settled for a point apiece. 

Bloemfontein Celtic (1) 1 (Letsoalo 11')
Chippa United (0) 1 (Eva Nga 73')

BLOEMFONTEIN CELTIC: Chaine; Ngobeni, Mahashe, Lingwati, Rikhotso, Baloyi, Kobedi, Mashikinya (De Jongh 63'), Van der Ross (Mofokeng 46'), Masuku (Tchilimbou 63'), Letsoalo (Mabena 63'). 

CHIPPA UNITED: Mtshali; Hanamub, Nsabiyumva, Nhlapo, Mobbie (Konqobe 86'), Sibeko (Sangweni 40'), Mdlinzo, Mokhele (Eva Nga 40'), Maloisane (Lentjies 63'), Laffor (Kwem 86'), Mbenyane.