Xoki fires AmaZulu past Chippa

Sibusiso Mabiliso © Gallo Images

AmaZulu FC secured a hard-fought 1-0 win over Chippa United in the DStv Premiership match at the Sisa Dukashe Stadium on Wednesday evening.

The win saw Usuthu remain sixth on the league standings, but they are level on points with fifth-placed Swallows FC, while the Chilli Boys slipped down to 14th spot.

The Chilli Boys started the match brightly and they were playing crosses and long balls into the Usuthu box for strikers Augustine Chidi Kwem and Bienvenu Eva Nga.

Kwem connected with a well-taken free-kick from Riaan Hamanub in the 20th minute, but his headed effort went straight into AmaZulu goalkeeper Veli Mothwa's hands.

Usuthu were launching most of their attacks down the right through Augustine Mulenga, whose cross found Siyethemba Sithebe unmarked in the hosts' box in the 30th minute.

Sithebe's volleyed effort was easily saved by Ayanda Mtshali in the Chippa goal-posts as the KwaZulu-Natal giants looked to break the deadlock in Mdantsane.

The score was 0-0 at the interval following a first-half which had few goal-scoring opportunities.

Usuthu looked dangerous whenever they pushed forward after the restart and they were awarded a penalty after Thamsanqa Sangweni was adjudged to have handled the ball in the box. 

Tapelo Xoki then stepped up and beat Mtshali from the spot-kick to make it 1-0 to AmaZulu four minutes before the hour-mark.

Chippa head coach Dan Malesela reacted by introducing attackers Anthony Laffor and Peter Malosane as the home side looked to level matters.

The Chilli Boys launched attacks and Kwem was sent through on goal in the 70th minute, but the Nigerian marksman placed his effort over the crossbar.

The last chance of the match fell for Maloisane in the box in the dying minutes of the match and he was denied by a well-positioned Mothwa and ultimately, the game ended in a 1-0 win in favour of AmaZulu. 

Chippa 0
AmaZulu (0) 1 (Xoki 56')

CHIPPA: Mtshali, Mobbie, Nhlapo, Nsabiyumva, Hanamub, Mthethwa (Maloisane 58'), Mokhele, Sangweni (Lentjies 76'), Mdlinzo, Eva Nga, Kwem (Laffor 58'). 

AMAZULU: Mothwa, Sikhakhane (Chawapiwa 87'), Xoki, Gumede, Mabiliso, Makhaula, Kewuti, Sithebe (Mlambo 80'), Mulenga (Magubane 46'), Majoro, Mthembu (Mgwazela 69').