Majoro fires AmaZulu into second spot

AmaZulu FC secured a 2-1 win over TS Galaxy in the DStv Premiership match at the Jonsson Kings Park Stadium on Saturday evening.

The victory saw Usuthu climb up to second place on the league standings - three points behind leaders, Mamelodi Sundowns, while the Rockets slipped down to 10th place.

Usuthu dominated the match from the first whistle with Siphesihle Maduna forcing Galaxy goalkeeper Marlon Heugh into an early save in the third minute.

Luvuyo Memela then delivered a quality cross for his AmaZulu teammate Lehlohonolo Majoro, whose effort was blocked in the box in the 18th minute as pressure mounted on the Rockets.

AmaZulu's pressure finally paid off three minutes after the half-hour mark when Majoro beat Heugh at the near-post to hand the hosts a 1-0 lead with Memela grabbing an assist.

The momentum was with Usuthu with the halftime break approaching and they managed to double their lead after Maduna's header was saved by Heugh.

Majoro was there to score from the rebound to make it 2-0 to AmaZulu in the 42nd minute and Usuthu were deservedly leading at the interval.

Given Msimango and Marks Munyai were both introduced by Galaxy head coach Owen Da Gama prior to the start of the second-half as visitors looked to level matters.

However, AmaZulu did not sit back as Majoro had a chance to complete his hat-trick on the hour-mark, but the Galaxy defence recovered and cleared their lines.

Benni McCarthy, the AmaZulu head coach, strengthened his defence by pulling out attacker Thabo Qalinge and introduced Malawian defender Limbikani Mvaza in the 66th minute.

Wayde Lekay had an opportunity to pull one back for the Rockets with two minutes left on the clock, but the striker placed his attempt over the crossbar having been set-up by Lindokuhle Mbatha.

Galaxy did grab a late consolation goal when Mbatha scored from the spot-kick in stoppage time after the visitors were awarded a penalty and ultimately, AmaZulu emerged 2-1 winners on the night.

AmaZulu (2) 2 (Majoro 33', 42')

Galaxy (0) 1 (Mbatha pen 90+')


AmaZulu:Mothwa, Gumede, Mgwazela, Sikhakhane, Mabiliso, Sithebe, Makhaula (Ncube 85'), Memela (Chawapiwa 79'), Qalinge (Mzava 66'), Maduna (Kewuti 65'), Majoro (Magubane 79').

TS Galaxy:Heugh, Fransman, Seedat (Phohlongo 82'), Sanoka (Munyai 46'), Modisane (Msimango 46'), Mahlangu, Mbatha, Badenhorst (Macuphu 69'), Mbunjana, Brooks, Figuaredo (Lekay 69').