Swallows frustrate AmaZulu in Durban

Yagan Sasman & Matarr Ceejay © Backpagepix

AmaZulu FC were held to a 0-0 draw by Swallows FC in the DStv Premiership match at the Jonsson Kings Park Stadium on Wednesday night.

                                * Get DStv or Showmax Pro to watch all the action live.

The matchday two result left Usuthu and the Birds placed 12th and seventh respectively on the league standings. 

There were no real goalscoring opportunities in the opening 15 minutes of the match with most of the ball being played in midfield by the two teams.

Swallows upped the tempo as the game progressed and they were awarded a free-kick in a promising area, but Ruzaigh Gamildien failed to hit the target from the set-piece.

Matarr Ceesay was looking lively for AmaZulu - making dangerous runs into the visitors' box, but decent goalscoring opportunities didn't come the Gambia international's way.

The match began to open up towards the half-time break, with Xola Mlambo forcing Swallows goalkeeper Virgil Vries into a good save after AmaZulu were awarded a free-near the box in the 41st minute.

At the other end, Usuthu keeper Veli Mothwa produced a smart save from Dillon Solomons' goal-bound shot and the score was 0-0 during the half-time break.

Usuthu saw most of the ball after the restart, with Mlambo dominating the midfield battle against his former Orlando Pirates teammate Musa Nyatama.

The Birds' coach Brandon Truter introduced Keletso Makgalwa in the 64th minute, with the diminutive attacker having grabbed an assist after coming on as a substitute against Royal AM last weekend.

The hosts had a good opportunity to grab a late goal from inside the box with 21 minutes left, but goalkeeper Virgil Vries made a fine save to deny Siyethemba Sithebe.

Both teams pushed for a late winning goal in the closing proceedings, but they were unable to find the back of the net, and ultimately, the encounter ended in a 0-0 draw.

AmaZulu 0
Swallows 0

AMAZULU: Mothwa, Sikhakhane (Moleko 65'), Zulu, Malepe, Xoki, Sithebe, Makhaula, Mlambo (Ekstein 78'), Maduna (Memela 66'), Ceesay (Ntuli 66'), Majoro (De Jong 78').

SWALLOWS: Vries, Matlaba, Sasman, Sait, Sibiya, Nyatama, Matlou (Wambi 75'), Ndlovu (Ndlovu 64'), Mokoena (Mbokoma 88'), Gamildien (Musonda 75'), Solomons (Makgalwa 64').