Maritzburg fight back to hold AmaZulu

Maritzburg United came from behind to hold AmaZulu FC to a 1-1 draw in a DStv Premiership match at the Harry Gwala Stadium in Pietermaritzburg on Sunday evening.

Amadou Soukouna canceled out Luvuyo Memela's opening goal and the result saw the Team of Choice and Usuthu remain 11th and eighth respectively on the league standings.

Having been rewarded with a starting berth after he made a great impact from the bench by grabbing an assist against Kaizer Chiefs on Wednesday, Andre De Jong provided another assist.

The former New Zealand international played a good cross for Luvuyo Memela, who hit the back of the net from close range to hand AmaZulu a 1-0 lead just 11 minutes into the game.

The Team of Choice had to find a way to level matters and they were awarded a free-kick in a promising area in the 25th minute, but Amadou Soukouna failed to hit the target from the set-piece.

The hosts kept pushing and Bongokuhle Hlongwane couldn't keep his header on target after he connected with Brandon Theron's cross in the 34th minute and the score was 1-0 to AmaZulu at half time.

Veli Mothwa was the busier of the two goalkeepers after the restart as Maritzburg applied more pressure on Usuthu, but the Bafana Bafana international dealt well with set-pieces which were played in his area.

The former Chippa United captain produced a magnificent save to deny Travis Graham with 20 minutes left on the clock after the AmaZulu defence was caught ball watching.

However, Mothwa was beaten in the 86th minute when Soukouna beat two defenders, before hitting the back of the net with a powerful shot from outside the box to make it 1-1.

AmaZulu tried to respond with a goal in the dying minutes of the game, but Maritzburg stood firm at the back and ultimately, the match ended in a 1-1 on the night.

Maritzburg (0) 1 (Memela 11')
AmaZulu (1) 1 (Soukouna 86')

Maritzburg:Engelhardt, Claasen, Ndengane, Ritchie, Soukouna, Ntshangase, Rae (Skelem 69'), Graham, Bhengu (Human 46'), B. Hlongwane, Theron.

AmaZulu: Mothwa, Gumede, Masilela, Xoki, Sikhakhakne, Buchanan (Mulenga 69'), Makhaula, Mlambo (Ceesay 70') , Qalinge (Moremi 90'), Memela, De Jong (Mthembu 79').