Sekhukhune and SuperSport in goalless draw

Sekhukhune United and SuperSport United played to a 0-0 draw in a 2021/22 DStv Premiership match at Emirates Airline Park on Saturday evening.

The result leaves the two clubs in sixth and eighth spot on the league standings respectively with one game remaining before the Christmas break.

SuperSport, who were without key players once more due to rising Covid-19 cases, started the game brightly and came within inches of taking the lead in the ninth minute. Gamphani Lungu had a golden chance to add to his tally for the campaign after being played through on goal, but watched his shot hit the woodwork with Toaster Nsabata beaten.

The visitors continued to probe and on the cusp of half-time a quick counter-attack threatened to put Babina Noko a goal down at the break, but after Thamsanqa Gabuza teed up Selaelo Rasebotja, the latter could only succeed in guiding his attempt over the crossbar.

Sekhukhune United introduced the pair of Vusimuzi Mncube and Tshediso Patjie after the interval and they made an immediate impact as the hosts registered their first shot in anger with 49 minutes on the clock. Mncube had his attempt blocked by Kegan Johannes who then blocked Prince Nxumalo's follow-up effort.

Babina Noko suffered a huge blow before hour mark as the influential Edwin Gyimah was forced off the field with an expected back injury.

Both teams were restricted to long-range shots for most of the remainder of the tie with neither side overly eager to flood bodies forward in attack. Yusuf Maart and Teboho Mokoena both tried their luck from distance, but neither failed to test the goalkeeper at either end of the pitch.

Sekhukhune striker Charlton Mashumba had the ball in the back of the net in the 87th minute, but the assistant's flag was rightfully raised for offside and in the end the two teams had to settle for a share of the spoils.


Sekhukhune United: ; Jampies, Chabalala, Gyimah (Mbonani 59'), Mobbie, Leepile, Parusnath (Mncube 46'), Maart, Chawapihwa (Patjie 46'), Nxumalo (Mahlangu 79'), Mashumba.

SuperSport United: Pule; Bhasera, Ditlhokwe, Johannes, Phillips, Webber, Ndhondhi, Matodzi (Maziko 64'), Lunga, Rasebotja (Mokoena 73'), Gabuza.