Baroka gain sweet revenge over Galaxy

Baroka FC avenged their recent defeat to TS Galaxy when they secured a 5-3 win on penalties following a 1-1 draw in a Nedbank Cup Last 16 match at the Mbombela Stadium on Sunday night.

The win saw the Bakgaga Ba Mphahlele progress to the quarterfinals after avenging their 1-0 loss to Galaxy in a DStv Premiership match on March 5. The Rockets crashed out of the tournament following the arrow defeat.

Bakgaga looked dangerous on the counter-attack from the start with Thamsanqa Masiya, who was keen to use his speed and dribbling skills to cut open the Rockets' defence, looking lively.

The visitors were awarded a penalty after Masiya was fouled in the hosts' box and Sekela Sithole scored from spot-kick - beating goalkeeper Melusi Buthelezi to make it 1-0 to Baroka in the 32nd minute.

Galaxy did create a few chances, but keeper Elvis Chipezeze denied Orebotse Mongae twice, before Augustine Chidi Kwem failed to direct his header towards goal from close range and the score was 1-0 to Baroka at halftime.

Kwem, who was keen to make amends for his close-range miss in the first-half, had an opportunity to level matters after the restart, but he was superbly denied by Chipezeze from a one-on-one situation.

However, the Rockets continued to push forward and they were gifted a goal when Sipho Maluleke netted an unfortunate own-goal from Mongae's cross to make it 1-1 in the 74th minute.

The goal ensured that the game ended in a 1-1 stalemate in regulation time and the match went into extra-time with a spot in the quarterfinals at stake.

Both teams created goalscoring opportunities in extra-time as they searched for the winning goal, but they couldn't find the back of the net and the match was to be decided by a penalty shoot.

Baroka went on to win 5-3 on penalties with Richard Mbulu converting the final spot-kick to send Bakgaka Ba Mohahlele to the quarterfinals.

Galaxy (0) 1 (Maluleke 74')

Baroka (1) 1 (Sithole 32')

Baroka won 5-3 on penalties

Galaxy: Buthelezi, Sanoka, Filipetto, Msimango (Aubaas 90'), Mere, Mbunjana (Roberts 76'), Brooks (Nduli 90'), Hlongwane (Sebelebele 75'), Mongae, Teto, Kwem (Lekay 65').

Baroka: Chipezeze, Shozi, Farmer, Ngubane, Masiya, Maluleke (Dlala 78'), Chauke (Bombi 72'), Kambala, Ndlovu (Mbulu 78'), Sithole (Monama 111'), Makgopa.