Pirates stun Sundowns to retain Nedbank Cup title

© Backpage Pix

Orlando Pirates successfully defended the Nedbank Cup crown as they defeated Mamelodi Sundowns 2-1 at the Mbombela Stadium on Saturday evening.

The match started off with an extremely high pressure attacking football from Sundowns’ side, the team capitalised on their chances and were even awarded a penalty within the first six minutes of the match.

Lucas Ribeiro took the penalty, but his effort was impressively saved by Sipho Chaine. The intensity slowed as both teams settled into the match and were more composed, Pirates started to look alive but Sundowns were dominating the majority of the possession.

As the second stanza went underway, it didn’t take the Brazilians too long to get the goal through Themba Zwane. The Buccaneers did not lose their determination despite being behind, and in the 68th minute won themselves a spot kick.

The effort was taken by Patrick Maswanganyi and he scored as he sent Ronwen Williams the wrong way. With 20 minutes of normal time to go, the two teams were level and it was clear that the Soweto team were still very much in the game.

In the closing stages of normal time, both teams pushed to find the winning goal but remained at level pegging. In the latter moments of stoppage time, Pirates were awarded a freekick.

The well-executed set piece sent teenager Relebohile Mofokeng in on goal, and he scored in a high pressure situation to give them the lead. This left Sundowns with very little time to adjust the score.

Orlando Pirates won the Nedbank Cup once again, and the stadium in Mbombela was filled with jubilation as the final whistle blew.

Mamelodi Sundowns: (0) 1 (Zwane 54’)

Orlando Pirates: (0) 2 (Maswanganyi 71’ PEN)

Mamelodi Sundowns: R. Williams, G. Kekana (J. Mendieta 46’), T. Mokoena, M. Lebusa, K. Mudau, B. Zungu, B. Aubaas, A. Modiba, T. Zwane, L. Ribeiro (T. Morena), M. Allende

Orlando Pirates: S. Chaine, I. Maela (R. Mofokeng 71’), T. Sesane (N. Sibisi 83’), O. Ndah, T. Monyane (T. Lebitso 60’), T. Mbatha, M. Makhaula (K. Dlamini 71’), D. Hotto, P. Maswanganyi, M. Saleng, E. Makgopa (T. Mabasa 60’)