Mthembu hands Stars win

Platinum Stars continued their dominant home form with a 1-0 victory over University of Pretoria in their Absa premiership clash at the Royal Bafokeng Sports Palace on Wednesday night.

Siphelele Mthembu, who last week made his debut for Bafana Bafana against Zimbabwe, netted the only goal of the game in first half injury-time.

It was a deserved win for the hosts, who made most of the running, though AmaTuks did have their chances to get something from the game.

Stars coach Allan Freese stuck largely with his tried and trusted line-up, the only change from the weekend draw at Free State Stars being the return of Botswana international star Mogakolodi Ngele in the place of Patrick Malokase.

AmaTuks coach Steve Barker also kept faith with those who secured a fine victory over Bloemfontein Celtic on Saturday.

The first half was lively, without there being a plethora of goal-mouth chances.

Mthembu forced a good early save from AmaTuks stopper Washington Arubi, while the Zimbabwean keeper had to be at his best to keep out Ngele as well.

But he was finally beaten in first half injury-time when Stars right-back Vuyo Mere slipped the ball in for Mthembu to side-foot home.

Dikwena looked the most lively again at the start of the second half with Mthembu and Robert Ng’ambi spurning opportunities, while AmaTuks forward Obadiah Tarumbwa flashed his effort wide.

There were then chances at either end, with first Khethu Zwane spurning a good chance, before Tintswalo Tshabalala did likewise for Stars.

Those were the last opportunities of the game as Dikwena held on for the victory that stretches their unbeaten start to the league season to five matches.

Next up for Stars is a massive away clash at Kaizer Chiefs on Saturday night, while AmaTuks host battling Lamontville Golden Arrows.

Platinum Stars (1) 1 (S Mthembu 45’)

University of Pretoria 0


Stars: Mpontshane, Mere, Gumede, Mhlongo, Mpeta, Nyanda (Hadebe 77’), Ng'ambi, Ngele (Chinyama 80’), Sarr, Tshabalala, S Mthembu (Nyathi 89’)

AmaTuks:Arubi, Kekana, Shoyisa, Mkhwanazi, Moussono-Moussono, Lamessa, Ngubane (Selolwane 82’), Phalane (Zwane 52’), Tarumbwa (Mosadi 65’), Massa, Matsi.