Polokwane thrash Tuks

Polokwane City cruised to an impressive 3-0 win over University of Pretoria in an Absa Premiership clash at the old Peter Mokaba Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The Limpopo team put in a first-half blitz and were three goals up by the time of the interval. They took their foot off the pedal in the second half, but could afford to do so after establishing a lead which AmaTuks had almost no chance of overhauling.

Polokwane City got off to a flying start and found themselves two goals up inside the first quarter hour. On the eight minute mark Moffat Mdluli provided a teasing cross from the right flank that allowed Puleng Tlolane to power home a header and put the hosts 1-0 up.

Just four minutes later it was 2-0, with Esau Kanyenda beating goalkeeper Washington Arubi to a hopeful long ball out of defence and placing a looping header into the back of the net.

Tuks were stunned by City’s fast start but gradually worked their way back into the game and should have reduced the deficit through Atusaye Nyondo 10 minutes before the break, but the striker wasted two good opportunities.

The Pretoria team were soon made to pay for this, with Rise and Shine extending their advantage in the 42nd minute through a first PSL goal from Botswana player Galabgwe Moyana, who fired a beautiful left-footed shot into the top corner from just outside the box.

AmaTuks made two changes at the start of the second half, introducing Tebogo Monyai and Fikru Tefera, and they created a couple of clear chances to reduce the deficit in the first 20 minutes after the break, only to again be let down by their finishing.

City were generally content to contain Tuks and offered only a sporadic threat of adding to their lead. Having done all the hard work in the first half, the home side was able to see out the game in comfort and pick up another three valuable log points.

Polokwane City (3) 3 (Tlolane 8’, Kanyenda 12’, Moyana 42’)

University of Pretoria 0


Polokwane City: Marumo, Molekwane, Tshilo, Mngqibisa, Lichaba, Moyana (Rakhale 59’), Molala, Mdluli (Mthimkhulu 79’), Gopane, Tlolane, Kanyenda (Nzimande 64’)

University of Pretoria: Arubi, Shoyisa, Mkhwanazi, Kekana, Moussonou-Moussonou, Ketjijere, Selolwane, Zwane (Tarumbwa 80’), Phalane (Fikru 46’), Nyondo, Mosadi (Monyai 46’)