Tuks held to goalless draw by Bucs

After a very fast match that saw a number of scoring opportunities, Orlando Pirates and University of Pretoria ended up sharing the points as they could not find the back of the net in their Absa Premiership encounter on Friday night at Orlando Stadium.

The first opportunity for Tuks came in the third minute when Atusaye Nyondo pulled in a shot that went wide.

Orlando Pirates made a strong comeback as Khethokwakhe Masuku took a shot but it went wide of the net in the 11th minute.

Four minutes later Lennox Bacela also tried to find an opening goal for the Buccaneers, but his shot went wide.

In the last 15 minutes of the first half both teams kept each other’s defence working hard as they were trying to find the back of the net.

Atusaye Nyondo’s shot was well cleared by Phungwayo and on the other hand Tshepo Gumede blocked Vuyisile Ntombayithethi’s effort, ensuring that the two teams ended the first half goalless.

In the second half it was Tuks that came back with full force attacking more. Denver Mukamba fired a powerful shot but unfortunately it went off the target in the 46th minute.

In the 68th minute substitute Geoffrey Massa tried to register his name on the score sheet with a shot, but it went wide of the right hand post.

Two minutes later Kermit Erasmus, who had come in for Lennox Bacela, also tried his luck but Tuks goalkeeper Washington Arubi was well alert.

With just less than 10 minutes before the final whistle Pirates' coach brought in Menzi Masuku in Lehlohonolo Majoro’s place. The youngster’s first touch was a threatening shot that unfortunately ended wide.

This saw the match ending in a goalless draw.

Orlando Pirates : Patrick Phungwayo, Brighton Mhlongo, Tshepo Gumede, Siyabonga Sangweni, Happy Jele, Issa Sarr, Thabo Rakhale, Mpho Makola, Oupa Manyisa, Lehlohonolo Majoro ( Masuku 85’), Lennox Bacela ( Erasmus 53’).

University of Pretoria: Washington Arubi, Vuyisile Ntombayithethi, Siyabonga Shoyisa, Grant Kekana, Partson Juare, Denver Mukamba ( Massa 66’), Mpho Matsi, Ronald Ketjijere, Siyabonga Ngubane, Atusaye Nyondo ( Thambo Masadi 76’) , Thabo Mnyamane ( Zwane 77’).