Dikwena brush aside Tuks

Platinum Stars defeated University of Pretoria 2-0 in an Absa Premiership clash at the Royal Barokeng Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The home side enjoyed more possession in the opening stages of the game as they looked to grab an early goal.

Dikwena's pressure finally paid off in the 26th minute when Solomon Mathe grabbed a goal with his right foot following a pass from his teammate Sibusiso Msomi, 1-0.

Tuks pushed forward in numbers in the 34th minute and former SuperSport United striker Thabiso Nkoana fired inches wide of Stars goalkeeper Mbongeni Mzimela's goal.

Stars winger Tshabalala suffered an injury in the 39th minute and he was replaced by 28-year-old striker Ndumiso Mabena.

Tuks midfielder Vuyisile Ntomabayithethi unleashed a shot from range which sailed over the cross-bar on the stroke of halftime.

Ten minutes into the second half Stars were awarded a free-kick just outside the Tuks box. Mabena stepped up and placed his effort straight at Arubi who made a comfortable save.

Stars head coach Cavin Johnson made his second change of the game on the hour mark, introducing Malawi international Robert Ng'ambi for Mduduzi Nyanda.

Dikwena captain and defender Vuyo Mere came close to doubling his side's lead two minutes later, but his header went just over the cross-bar.

In the 73rd minute, Tuks midfielder Mpho Maruping was red carded after he received his second yellow card. The visitors had to soldier on with ten men.

Stars were awarded a corner-kick with ten minutes left on the clock. Siphiwe Sithole then rose highest inside the Tuks box and headed wide of the target.

The home side did make use of their numerical advantage over Tuks with five minutes left on the clock. Siyabonga Zulu sealed Stars' 2-0 win on the day with a left-footed finish.

Platinum Stars (0) 2 (Mathe 26', Zulu 85')

University of Pretoria (0) 0


Platinum Stars: Mzimela, Mere, Nhlapo, Sithole, Zulu, Mathe, Madubanya, Nyanda (Ng'ambi 60'), Tshabalala (Mabena 37'), Msomi, Ntuli (Rodgers 74')

AmaTuks: Arubi, Ngubane, Monyai, Mwedihanga, Sibande, Ntomayithete, Ketjijere, Maruping, Zwane (Kebede 63'), Mnyamane (Mosadi 76'), Nkoana (Bacela 63')