Bloem Celtic and Polokwane draw

Early goals from Lerato Lamola and Thobani Mncwango ensured that Bloemfontein Celtic and Polokwane City ended 1-1 in their final Absa Premiership match.

There was not much to play for in this match given that both Bloemfontein Celtic and Polokwane City were certain to finish outside the Top 8 and were in no real trouble of relegation.

Yet, the game still started in a very exciting fashion. Celtic stormed into an early lead inside the first minute of the game thanks to a shot by Lerato Lamola. A short corner by Lyle Lakay found Thapelo Morena who crossed for Lamola and he made no mistake with his shot.

But in the 6th minute the visitors were back in the game when sharp shooter Thobani Mncwango leveled with a right footed shot following good work by Simphiwe Hlongwane.

A few minutes later Randy Ngobe shot wide of goal as Polokwane kept the pressure on Celtic following their equalizer.

In the final moments of the first half, Aphiwe Lubisi saw his attempt at goal kept out by George Chigova before Randy Ngobe sent an effort over the bar.

The opening twenty minutes of the second half lacked quality in the final third as neither team looked like they really wanted to find the second goal. Randy Ngobe had the best chance of this period, but lacked direction and power on the ball.

Vuyisile Wana and Fiston Razak were brought on as substitutes for Celtic as Siwelele looked for options to spark them into attack to try and find a winning goal.

And they came close to netting in the 76th minute when, from a corner taken by Thapelo Morena, Razak’s headed attempt hit the bar.

A few half chances on either end of the field brought to a close a disappointing second half performance by both sides with very little to write home about.

Bloemfontein Celtic (1) 1 (Lamola 1’)

Polokwane City (1) 1 (Mncwango 6’)


Celtic: Tignyemb, Dube, Fransman, Shikwena (Phalane 57’), Letlabika, Nyatama, Lakay (Wana 75’), Morena, Lamola (Lamola 63’), Lubisi, Zuma

Polokwane: Chigova, Phungwayo, Hlongwane, Tshilo, Mbonani, Motumi, Seabi, Jembula (Matsemela 85’), Mncwango (Ndou 37’), Ngobe, Kanyenda (Maluleke 77’)