Kaizer Chiefs beat Platinum Stars

Hendrik Ekstein’s goal ensured Kaizer Chiefs bounced back to beat Platinum Stars 1-0 in an Absa Premiership match at FNB Stadium on Sunday afternoon.

The victory for the Soweto giants sees them placed at No 4 with 42 points, they have three matches remaining in their season.

It was a slow start at the Calabash as Amakhosi wanted to avoid their second loss at home, but the hosts attacked after the 15th minute.

However, a great opportunity fell to Ryan Moon and he came close to putting Chiefs ahead, but his header went wide as the forward tried to score from an awkward angle in the 23rd minute.

Just before the half-hour mark, Amakhosi dominated the proceedings and Leonardo Castro had a well-struck shot at goal, but Mbongeni Mzimela produced a fine save.

Dikwena tried to unlock Chiefs defence in the opening half, but could not test Itumeleng Khune as they went to the tunnel deadlocked at 0-0.

Steve Komphela’s men upped their search for a goal and Ekstein netted in the 48th minute with a tap-in from close range to finish Joseph Molangoane’s cross down the right flank.

Willard Katsande gave Dikwena a scare when the Zimbabwean saw his header going inches wide of Mzimela’s right corner in the 63rd minute.

Chiefs showed a sense of urgency as they wanted to kill off the game, But Mzimela saved Katsande’s shot in the box resulting from a set piece in the 69th minute – the rebound went over the crossbar.

Despite having chances to double their lead, Amakhosi fired blanks as Bernard Parker’s effort went wide of the right corner with a minute to go.

Coach Roger De Sa made changes in the second stanza, but they did not help to get a goal as Khune remained untested, and Stars remain at the bottom with 21 points from 27 games.

Kaizer Chiefs (0) 1 (Ekstein 48’)

Platinum Stars 0

Kaizer Chiefs: Khune, Masilela (Tshabalala 80’), Cardoso, Molangoane, Parker, Zulu, Ekstein, Katsande, Tshabalala, Moon (Ntshangase 61’), Castro (Maluleka 84’)

Platinum Stars: Mzimela, Mere, Sithole, Mkhabela, Gcaba (Koapeng 81’), Gome, De Jongh, Norodien (Phiri 64’), Baloyi (Mekoa 66’), Ntuli, Tshabangu